User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Someone please explain node parentage?

  1. #1
    Clicker The Games Factory 2
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    jobromedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Someone please explain node parentage?

    So I'm curious here. How does the node system work, and how do you set up parents?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a node is an object inside the 3D world.

    to set a parent enter an event on the child and choose set parent - enter the parents fixed value. the child will now always do what its parent does - if its parent moves to 0,0,0 it will move to 0,0,0 if its parent rotates to 0,0,90 then it will rotate to 0,0,90

  3. #3
    Clicker The Games Factory 2
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    jobromedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the fast response! An additional question I'm getting kinda confused over. What XY coordinate in the 2D world (frame area) represents the 3D Coordinates for XYZ, and can this be adjusted somehow?

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killeen, TEXAS
    Posts
    1,037
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the co ordinates - can be relative to anything.. eg - the center of a 640x480 frame is x=320, y=240 - the 3D co ordinates can be exactly the same if you like. its all relative to where the camera IS and where its pointing TO (target)

    3d has 3 co ordinates x,y,z ( if you were to imagine your 2d frame area laid down flat in a 3d world (eg a top down racing game etc) - the "ground" axis are the X and Z, Y being up and down. therefore 2d X,Y would be the 3d's X,Z. you can position something from your frame X pos, to the 3d worlds X co ordinate, and the frames Y pos to the 3d worlds Z co ordinate.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    on most nodes there is a Transpose option, this allows you to tell Firefly to automatically move the node in 3d if its moved in 2d. it currently has 7 options (an 8th is due in the next update)

    "No Transposition", this will not move the node automatically (default)
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dx, 2dy -> 3dy ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D x value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D y value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dx, 2dy -> 3dz ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D x value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D z value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dy, 2dy -> 3dx ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D y value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D x value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dy, 2dy -> 3dz ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D y value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D z value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dz, 2dy -> 3dx ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D z value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D x value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dz, 2dy -> 3dy ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D z value and take the 2D y value and put it in the 3D y value.
    "Transpose 2dx -> 3dx, 2dy(i) -> 3dz ", this will take the 2D x value and put it into the 3D x value and take the 2D y value and invert it and put it in the 3D z value. (this will cause a y value of say 34 to become -34 before its placed into 3D z value)

    so to answer your question - how the 2d position affects its place in the 3d world is completely upto you.

  6. #6
    Clicker The Games Factory 2
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    jobromedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That explains it better. A wishlist for Firefly:

    * 3D grid to 2D grid.
    * Zero coordinate object
    * Extend primitives faces in any direction.
    * Import blender game levels and execute their movements.
    * Link materials and meshes through properties.
    * Link parents and children through properties.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    * 3D grid to 2D grid.
    - not sure what this would do or look like ?
    * Zero coordinate object
    - im confused also why you would need an object you couldnt move ? you already have one just dont move it.
    * Extend primitives faces in any direction.
    - this would be vertex manipulation which firefly doesn't do yet
    * Import blender game levels and execute their movements.
    as explained earlier a lot of work for little to no reward
    * Link materials and meshes through properties.
    materials and meshes are already handled through properties ?
    * Link parents and children through properties.
    parents only happen during runtime so noway to link them during edit time when they are not linked ?

    not meaning to sound harsh but i'm failing to see what some of those features would add.

  8. #8
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killeen, TEXAS
    Posts
    1,037
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah the blender thing is just so inappropriate. just why not stick with blender!?

Similar Threads

  1. Can someone please explain this
    By Outcast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12th September 2013, 07:19 PM
  2. Specific node
    By Jacob in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th January 2010, 10:40 PM
  3. Could somebody explain this...?
    By camelman in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd September 2009, 03:56 PM
  4. Node Formula
    By nivram in forum File Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th December 2008, 07:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •