User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Player Drawn Sprites at Runtime

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Player Drawn Sprites at Runtime

    I've been playing around with the idea of a game in which the player can design their own sprites and wondered if this was possible in Fusion 2.5.

    My current approach would likely involve something along the lines of a 32x32 grid in which the user could colour each pixel as they please. Upon completion, the grid would then be "cropped" out and placed into the frame of an active object. I'm guessing the player drawn sprite would have to replace the frame of an existing active object as I'm not sure of a way to create an entirely new active object at runtime (I'm not referring to an instance of an object).


    Does anyone know if this is possible? And, if so, point me in the right direction? It does not have to be applied in accordance with the above explanation, this was just a theory of how it could be done that I had in mind.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    schrodinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,159
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    This is possible in a number of ways, none of them particularly handy though.

    1) using the Surface object instead of an active object, both for drawing and displaying result

    2) saving a "print screen" with screen capture object (cropping the saved area to specific drawn size) into a file - and then using the "load frame" action of active objects to load

    both solutions are windows only

    3) not really using a sprite, but 32x32 "active objects" dots as the drawing grid, and then saving the dots configuration in the grid
    (your grid "cells" relative positions to each other and color) and retrieving it/moving upon need

    this is cross platform also, but is going to be quite intensive if the player fills the grid a lot (1024 objects for a full grid...)

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, damn shame, I was hoping to keep it mobile friendly and option 3 sounds crazy intensive in terms of my end goal

    I could drop the size down to 16x16 but that's still pretty heavy on performance, and 8x8 is a little limited for what I'm after. I guess the idea is a little too advanced to be implemented into Fusion 2.5 currently so I guess I'll keep that feature on hold for now.

    Thanks a lot for taking the time out to reply

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th June 2015, 06:31 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd November 2014, 06:54 PM
  3. Loading sprites at runtime
    By astrospoon in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th September 2008, 03:32 AM
  4. Create sprites using spritesheets during runtime
    By Pablo in forum File Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th October 2007, 10:44 PM
  5. Loading sprites during runtime?
    By Blizna in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st July 2006, 07:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •