User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Transitions are having trouble with Direct3D 9

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Transitions are having trouble with Direct3D 9

    Hey, thanks for taking the time to read this. I got a new computer a month ago and one of the first things I did was install Clickteam. I'm now working on a new game, but the transitions are behaving a bit... odd.

    When I use Direct3D 9, the fade transition straight up does not work. I tried Advanced Scrolling, however, and it worked correctly.

    Upon switching to Direct3D 8, the fade transition worked just fine. However it had some issues with strings (notably, they're glaringly cut off a few pixels before the screen border).

    I uninstalled Clickteam, and reinstalled it. The fade transition still doesn't work correctly. Anybody have any ideas? I have no idea what to do.

    EDIT: Figured I should mention this, but since the transition isn't working, it just jumps to a black screen for the duration that the fade is supposed to last.


    EDIT 2: Every other transition that I've tried works however. The only one that doesn't work correctly is Fade-In and Fade-Out.

    Temporary work-arounds are also appreciated.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm afraid it turned out just to be my PC. Even with games like FNAF World, the fade transition doesn't work. I'll just use another transition. Thank you to everyone that took a look at this thread to try and help out.

    I'll double check my drivers, if I can't find a solution in a few weeks, I'll consider contacting Clickteam to see if there's a way they can make the Fade compatible with my graphics cards.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    Del_Duio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cygnus X-I
    Posts
    939
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The simple Fade In / Out is pretty old, it's possible it just won't work correctly on some newer computers / OSes (?)

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a new computer, I got it about a month ago. It's not too big of a deal, every other transition that I've tried works, so I'll just use the other ones. I have a tendency to overuse fade, so this might be a good thing. xD

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    piscesdreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    996
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I make my fade effects for frames using a small active object with whatever color I am fading with. I then just add a top layer and scale the active object to the frame size. It's much less CPU intensive and it also doesn't freeze the game in its tracks when you initiate the fade effect.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've made the decision to use other transitions, and my computer is brand new, with some great specs, so I'm just thinking that the engine wasn't designed for this kind of PC.

    I think it'll work out. The zig-zag works incredibly well with what I'm making, so I'm glad I used something different for once.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my personal experience it's probably better to avoid transitions altogether and go with piscesdreams' suggestion. Transitions in general can cause some wonky effects, especially if your game gets bigger and bigger.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I figured it out. My PC uses an NVIDIA GPU by default, but Clickteam games were being run with Integrated Graphics. I corrected the issue (not that it was much of an issue to begin with).

Similar Threads

  1. SWF Frame Transitions VS Active or Object Transitions in Game Play
    By Rolando in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th April 2013, 08:54 PM
  2. Are there any other frame transitions for mmf2 that arent the default transitions?
    By path in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th September 2012, 03:09 PM
  3. Direct3D 9 going haywire.
    By Sejez in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st July 2012, 06:41 PM
  4. Ios Export and Direct3D?
    By iamjot in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th July 2011, 03:07 PM
  5. & in Direct3D 8
    By Nifflas in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd November 2009, 06:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •