User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is the updated 'Inventory Object' available yet?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Gradius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    117
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is the updated 'Inventory Object' available yet?

    Hello people, back in July last year Yves mentioned that the old Inventory Object (created by Francois for MMF2) had been updated by Fernando to work with CF2.5, and at that point it was being tested. Just wondering if this object is still in the works or if there's any news about it?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What does the Inventory Object have over using an array?
    I've found arrays to be fine for all my Inventory related needs.

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    TimmyTopHat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What does the Inventory Object have over using an array?
    The inventory object can store objects rather than simply values. This is great for storing additional data such as renamed item names, durability and other info in the object's alterable values, information that couldn't fit nicely into a plain array. Personally, though, I'd be satisfied with a simple Object Array, as I often use Active Objects as a replacement for C Structs, using renamed alterable values.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see. That would be useful for some games.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    2,111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    use a text array instead of number array, problem solved.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    Sparckman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Planet of the Kangaroos
    Posts
    1,423
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got it to work fine in 2.5 DaveC has obviously installed it wrong.
    https://community.clickteam.com/threads/71680-Inventory-object

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyone can explain me how to make inventory using arrays? I have an backpack made of 20 slots and equipment of active 12 slots

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator ProUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    573
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Personally I'd want to keep in mind scalability. so if you decide to increase limits it wouldn't take much work. Make notes on what information you would like to store in the inventory entry. You may find it easier to store data in a text array for instance if you wanted to store the item name and description in the item entry. I would personally prefer to have an ID that is used to lookup against another array for the name and description (that way if you rename the item it would make things simpler). The ID could also be used to look up against the items attributes (ie stackable, special stats and so on).

    built in arrays don't have sorting. So you could either code your own sorting code or just sort the data when its displayed leaving the array order as it is.

    If you have a total of 32 inventory slots have a flag that specifies if it is equipped. Then just make sure that no more than 12 items can be equipped.

    I made an example for someone else here: https://community.clickteam.com/threads/97848-Stacking-items-in-inventory?p=697369#post697369

Similar Threads

  1. Inventory object
    By Francois in forum Released Extensions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 24th November 2014, 12:07 PM
  2. Inventory object
    By Francois in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 31st August 2012, 07:21 AM
  3. Updated Perspective Object
    By Anders in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12th August 2007, 06:03 AM
  4. Updated Perspective Object
    By Jeff in forum Released Extensions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd August 2007, 02:11 PM
  5. "Tray Icon Object" Needs to be Updated (Buggy)
    By Cocodrilo in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th September 2006, 04:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •