User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How to Increase Width of String Object

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export ModuleHTML5 Export Module

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to Increase Width of String Object [SOLVED]

    How can I increase the width of a string object (the boundary box)? The text is being split to another line every 2-3 words, rather than the entire text staying on a single line (see attached image).

    Thanks!
    Bryan

    Capture.jpg

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5+ DLC
    casleziro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    644
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Either click the string object twice and then drag the handles out, or go to the "Size/Position" tab in the string's properties and change the dimensions from there.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export ModuleHTML5 Export Module

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Double-clicking on them doesn't display handles; it makes the text editable. Also-- in the 'Size/Position' tab, the width and height are grayed out for string objects.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5+ DLC
    casleziro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    644
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try clicking once to highlight the string, then again to bring up the handles instead of double clicking quickly. You should still be able to see the handles if you doubleclick to edit the string, though.

    I don't know why the width and height would be grayed out in the properties. Are your strings in a locked layer?

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export ModuleHTML5 Export Module

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Clicking once and then a second time doesn't bring up any handles (like with other objects). All my layers are unlocked.

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export ModuleHTML5 Export Module

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, mystery solved-- I had to tick 'Visible at start' under 'Display Options' in order to see the handles and resize.

  7. #7
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleMac Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there a way to change the size at runtime, such as when the string is changed to something longer or shorter?

  8. #8
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    Here is how I grow a Static String object. I use a Edit Box and a static string object.

    I shrink or grow the text string object when edit box has been modified.


    Set Static Text to: Edittext$( "Edit Box" ) "Edit the Static String and Length of box."

    Set Static Text Alterable Value A to: Val(Str$(Len(Edittext$( "Edit Box" )))) "This gives me a count of letters in the Static text"

    Set Static Text Width to: Alterable Value A( "Static Text" ) * 16 "The number 16 is pixels I Believe. You can put what ever number you like."

    Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    ratty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Active System Box instead, since it's easier to manipulate at runtime

  10. #10
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleMac Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, I'll try those suggestions!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th November 2016, 12:05 PM
  2. Width or Virtual Width for the window size?
    By Simflare in forum iOS Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th December 2015, 08:01 AM
  3. Getting the width of a string?
    By J3sseM in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd December 2014, 04:11 PM
  4. How to adjust string object width?
    By StingRay in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th February 2014, 10:13 PM
  5. Gradual increase in speed of object
    By OldGuy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th November 2008, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •