User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problems with level editor/level-save object

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Camomano99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problems with level editor/level-save object

    So I've been working on a level editor and I've got the basics working pretty good, but I cant get it to save and or load properly whatsoever. Any ideas on what to do?
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure if that's the same level-save object I tried some years ago (I can't find it in the manager), but when I did try it it was quite slow and buggy. If I recall, I had problems loading saved data.
    Probably best using an array instead.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Camomano99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar View Post
    Not sure if that's the same level-save object I tried some years ago (I can't find it in the manager), but when I did try it it was quite slow and buggy. If I recall, I had problems loading saved data.
    Probably best using an array instead.
    I tried that with zentacos example and video but it was far too small and when I changed the size of the size of the frame and such It wouldn't load any blocks placed outside the original area. I also couldn't get it to save to a file.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUnicode Add-onInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ensure that objects aren't set "Destroy object if too far from frame".

    Else I've attached a basic level editor I made recently as an example using the bitwiser object which should scale up to as big as you need.

    bitwiser object still hasn't been added to the extension manager so you can get it here: https://community.clickteam.com/threads/102276-Bitwiser-Object-Initial-Release
    Attached files Attached files

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Camo, I made this the other day. It's a very basic level-editor using similar methods to zentaco's example. It's 32x32 tile based. To use, just enter how many horizontal/vertical tiles you need and use the mouse wheel to scroll through the tiles. Left button to place tiles, right button to delete. It may be useful and something you can improve and build-on: Basic_editor.mfa

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Camomano99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by danworth View Post
    Ensure that objects aren't set "Destroy object if too far from frame".

    Else I've attached a basic level editor I made recently as an example using the bitwiser object which should scale up to as big as you need.

    bitwiser object still hasn't been added to the extension manager so you can get it here: https://community.clickteam.com/threads/102276-Bitwiser-Object-Initial-Release
    Level EditorTest.mfa

    Tried that but when I made the screen size 1080p nothing would load after a certain point. A̶n̶d̶ ̶@̶C̶a̶e̶s̶a̶r̶ ̶w̶i̶t̶h̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶o̶n̶e̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶ ̶s̶e̶n̶t̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶w̶o̶u̶l̶d̶n̶'̶t̶ ̶e̶v̶e̶n̶ ̶l̶e̶t̶ ̶m̶e̶ ̶p̶l̶a̶c̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶y̶t̶h̶i̶n̶g̶.̶ Never mind I'm stupid I didnt input the size. So how would I go about adding enemies or pickups or something with this since they aren't real objects?

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Camo, you add a frame of your real object to an empty frame in the tile-curser. The frame value is then added to the array when you paste the tile. On the level in your game where you load the map, rename your actives to that same frame number. You can then grab the value from the array and create the real objects by name(the name of the active will be the same as the value in the array.)

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Camomano99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar View Post
    Camo, you add a frame of your real object to an empty frame in the tile-curser. The frame value is then added to the array when you paste the tile. On the level in your game where you load the map, rename your actives to that same frame number. You can then grab the value from the array and create the real objects by name(the name of the active will be the same as the value in the array.)
    I'm still kind of confused on how to get this to work.
    Attached files Attached files

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had a look. With the level editor, it's best to have it as an independent program or on a separate frame from your actual game level(where you play the game.) By the looks of it, it seems you are trying to have both the level editor and main game on the same frame.

    All you do is design your level using the level editor. Save the array - calling it something like "1.arr". In your game engine - which will be on a different frame - load the "1.arr" array file into the array object. If you look at the level editor code, there is a load section. This will give you a clue on what to do. Also note, in the editor there is a Player button. That is used to set the start position of your player in the array. When you are loading the level, you get the values from the array to set your player start position.

    For now, I'd suggest you carefully look through each section of the level editor code and try understand what each section is doing. I'd also re-watch zentaco's videos on how to build a basic level editor.

    Later, when I have time(tonight or tomoz), I'll make another example for that loads a saved level into the frame containing the game engine.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Code an extention for save level of level deitor
    By Bertard in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th June 2016, 04:43 PM
  2. Level editor problems
    By MattEsch in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29th November 2012, 08:36 PM
  3. Having problems using level-save object
    By Caesar in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th August 2011, 02:00 AM
  4. Problems w/ Level Editor
    By wizkidweb in forum File Archive
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 4th May 2008, 01:03 AM
  5. Level Editor Problems
    By Game_Master in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th March 2008, 08:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •