Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Automatically Importing code from other frames?

No Products Registered

Automatically Importing code from other frames?

Hey guys, Im making a game where there are 9 frames, (7 Level Frames, 1 Engine Frame, 1 Main Screen,) , So I want it so that when I edit the engine frame's code, It automatically edits the code of the 7 Level Frames, So that if I find a bug or something I can just edit 1 frame instead of 7, Is this possible? Or if not, is there any other ways to do it? Thanks!

It is not possible to automate this. You have 2 options I can think of to not spread duplicate code across many frames:

1. You code your levels and engine in a single frame. This means the engine will load level data from some external source (array, text file, etc) and create the level at runtime.
    2. Work with Global events. I have zero experience with this so I can't speak to how easy it is to work with. I have only ever heard negative things about it, as it has limitations and quirks you need to work around. But maybe someone else can give you advice on how to manage it.

Quote Originally Posted by mobichan View Post
    It is not possible to automate this. You have 2 options I can think of to not spread duplicate code across many frames:

1. You code your levels and engine in a single frame. This means the engine will load level data from some external source (array, text file, etc) and create the level at runtime.
    2. Work with Global events. I have zero experience with this so I can't speak to how easy it is to work with. I have only ever heard negative things about it, as it has limitations and quirks you need to work around. But maybe someone else can give you advice on how to manage it.
    3. Copy Paste the code in each frame. If you are going this way I would recommend a prototype Frame where you only code.

With global events you cant sadly use qualifiers, there is a workaround that someone found somewhere on the forums (if u search).