User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How to have a good SoundEngine?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Sevennemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question How to have a good SoundEngine?

    Hi, I would like to have a refresh on the smooth running of sounds in MMF2.5

    When I play a sound (eg a shot) on Channel 1 "gun.wav" if I shoot a second time it stops the sound that was already playing... Off my game will contain a lot of sound and it's annoying, see difficult to handle each sound that must play on a channel "empty"! Even worse, I change the frequencies to get a diversity in the sounds. how to make a good SoundEngine that works well with no sound that cuts itself? Thank you!

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    PBarwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a setting on the properties of the application called 'multi channel sounds' (or something similar) that stops sounds interrupting one another, I think.

    Sorry I can't get the exact name of the setting right now I'm not at my computer.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Sevennemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it is already activated...strange :/

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem is that you're specifically only using one channel. You can only play one sound per channel. But Channel 1 and Channel 2 can both play at the same time, etc.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 Mac
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    zip2kx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    717
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you select the simple choice of playing a sample fusion will select the nearest free channel to play the sound (in theory), or you can manually select which sounds gets played in what which is prefered because then you can control volume of certain samples easier. I personally use ranges, e.g. 30-32 is for music, 1-10 for player sounds and the rest is for whatever.

  6. #6
    Clicker Install Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Darkhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A tip: Try using OGG even for samples. WAVs have awful sizes and the difference between WAV and OGG-compressed samples is so minimal that it's unhearable to most people with regular, cheap speakers or headphones. I know that in short samples it may not seem like much, but it adds up.

    Another tip would be to avoid MIDIs in CF like a plague. The bug I'm about to describe happened even back in TGF 1.x times, maybe even earlier, I don't know since I never had KNP or CNC and it makes it unable to change music (if using MIDI) after you set one at the start of frame. This hurts especially when you need/want separate boss music where bosses are within level, without any separate arenas that could be put in separate frames. When you try to change MIDI music by just playing another once certain condition was met, the framerate goes bye-bye and you're left with a PowerPoint presentation instead of a game. That's why it's so great that you can use per channel playback as the bug I've mentioned happens only when using MIDIs, not regular audio files. And seriously, who wants to listen to MIDIs nowadays anyway? I seriously wonder why Microsoft didn't get rid of software synthesizer for MIDIs a long time ago. Maybe someone there just likes Canyon.mid that much, lol.

    If you want to make game that's small in size (but also has cool music in it), and chiptunes suit your game and you aren't afraid of using weird music software, you should consider using pxtone or klystrack to make music for your game as they have small file sizes, comparable with MIDIs, but are also very good sounding thanks to advanced synthesis. Then use appropriate object. BTW. You may thank me for the klystrack object as I've commissioned it from @Phi .

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I mean, MIDI is ancient in the world of computers, but it still generates a tiny, tiny file. That's got something going for it. Not all MIDI is bad.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleMac Export Module
    dsilvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    409
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One trick I used in Mondrian was to create an object that would control channels. Essentially, I planned out which sound effects would play on which channels, and using alterable values, incremented the channel number on which a particular sound effect would play. After the sound effect ended, I would then subtract 1 from that particular alterable value, so the next time the effect played, it would be on an open channel.

  9. #9
    Clicker Install Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Darkhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wererabbit View Post
    I mean, MIDI is ancient in the world of computers, but it still generates a tiny, tiny file. That's got something going for it. Not all MIDI is bad.
    True, but because of the bug in the CF I've mentioned if you are going to change music mid-level, e.g. for a boss fight, the performance will go down the crapper. And Klystrack and pxtone generate very small files as well, because they use sound synthesis for the most part.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Surely that is fixable. As long as your midi file has good note-off values, it should just swap over. Have you submitted a bug report?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where is a good place to get good sounds?
    By delta9857 in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th November 2010, 12:34 AM
  2. Which ActiveX is good?
    By Herbert in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th January 2009, 12:28 AM
  3. OH GOOD GOD HELP!!!
    By Martin_Bodger in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 13th June 2008, 03:29 AM
  4. A good boss
    By Martin_R_Bodger in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th February 2008, 03:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •