User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Mac editor vs running parallels

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Mac editor vs running parallels

    Hi, I have held off looking at the mac editor, but as now more of my time is spent on an imac I have a question - already said in the post title.

    Are there significant advantages in running the official mac version compared to using the windows version running in parallels VM?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    AND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before the Mac editor was available I used to run CTF 2.5 in VMware which is very much like Parallels. Since getting the Mac editor I no longer have to use Windows at all and I find it very snappy and convenient. For me it's an advantage being able to instantly start up the mac editor instead of having to wait for the Windows desktop to load up in VMware. The experience of using Windows inside VMware slows the computer down too, as you have to allocate a chunk of your available RAM to the virtual desktop. There is only one possible downside I can see, and that is not being able to use Direct3D for Windows, though I'm not sure whether you can do that in a virtual desktop anyway.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    DistantJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gloucester, UK
    Posts
    2,142
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's more convenient to not have to open a VM of course, but the "Mac version" (just a slightly modified version in a WINE wrapper... not even hiding that fact) actually runs slower than it does in a VM.

Similar Threads

  1. Parallels Desktop for Mac
    By DistantJ in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 15th February 2014, 04:57 PM
  2. Running a program on a device from inside the editor
    By Jason in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd January 2014, 12:49 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th November 2013, 02:52 PM
  4. Advice for Parallels and MMF2 HWA
    By AndyH in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th September 2012, 02:13 PM
  5. MMF2 on a Mac using Parallels?
    By aidmm in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th June 2007, 05:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •