User Tag List

Thread: Is Lacewing able to handle an MMO?

Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is Lacewing able to handle an MMO?

I have been working a game since October of 2017 and I have made a lot of progress with it! One thing that I am seeing as a possible issue is the game is an MMO. This means they game could have thousands of people on at once. Could a Lacewing server handel this? Also what if people are sending messages to the server, would the server get confused and not process them all correctly?
    I would like a response as quick as possible!
    Thanks ~ RaoK

Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator ProUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You would write the server in C++. Which will have no problem providing you make you server scalable. Ie multiple servers. Say you had 10k active users. For 1 server to handle 10k clients is going to need a pretty decent server and bandwidth and offer no redundancy. You're better off allowing 2000 per server and allow clients to hop between.

I'd budget 2 servers for patch, 2 for login, 10 for game (spread across regions) if I was looking at 10k consecutive players.

If it's around 2k then maybe 1 patch and login and 2 game.

If your server is coded to scale up you would just spin up additional servers as they are needed.

Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay thanks for this information. How would lacewing deal with multiple message being sent at the same time from different clients? Some of these messages need to be relayed back to a channel, so would the server get confused and sent it to the wrong channel?