User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Replace Color event absolutely tanks the frame rate

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    TheHandwovenBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Replace Color event absolutely tanks the frame rate

    Tech Demo 2.mfa
    I used the "Replace Color" event for my main Active to try and avoid the long process of recoloring every single frame of every animation to make a new active, however, upon the event activating, the frame rate absolutely tanks, with large amounts of lag. Is there any way to fix this?

    (Event triggered by "Varia Suit" object.)

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there,

    I seems you are running the loop always which could cause the slowdown.
    There are multiple ways to solve this.

    Just to test this:
    On the Varia suit event (where you change the colors) Set "flag 1 On" for the character.
    Flags -> Set on -> Flag 1

    Add an extra condition for the event "Is a flag 1 off?" for the character.
    (Character) -> Alterable Values -> Flags -> Is flag a off? -> Flag 1

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    TheHandwovenBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice, I will try what you said later

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If your game is going to contain heavy color swapping, I suggest the RGB Coefficient. As I've been told, Replace color is a very old function, and is no longer supported, which is the reason for all the slow downs.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    TheHandwovenBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I did what Wirta suggested and it fixed the issue, aside from a brief freeze

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, unfortunately this action is just too slow to use in real time. What you can do is make clones of your player sprite, do the color replacement when the frame loads and swap between clones during gameplay.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea, which is why I suggested using RGB coefficient. It's supposedly faster, and won't have compatibility issues with new software. I've made an experiment that makes use of the feature for such classic games that require it, which seems to work on multiple export modules.

    I've also heard Shaders can work just as well, but doesn't seem to be compatible with some exporters.

Similar Threads

  1. Color Swap - RGB Coefficient with White Graphic Masking. Alternative to Replace Color
    By N64Mario in forum Guides, Tutorials, Examples, Widgets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th November 2018, 06:31 PM
  2. [BUG 256.34] Replace color doesn't always work in standard 256 color mode
    By Corlen in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th October 2014, 10:21 AM
  3. Color Replace For the Entire Frame?
    By stevenart1988 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th April 2013, 01:33 AM
  4. Replace a single color from 1 to 256 on each frame restart?
    By daryuss in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th January 2013, 09:00 PM
  5. Color bug in 'replace color' option
    By N64Mario in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 7th June 2009, 03:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •