User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help? Default icon appears for Mac build after changing it in application properties

  1. #1
    Clicker SWF Export Module

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Help? Default icon appears for Mac build after changing it in application properties

    Hey guys! So I'm building an app for the Mac. I've changed the icons in Application Properties "About" section AND in the Application Properties "Mac Options" section. And yet, when I build the application, I still get the standard lightning bolt. I found this thread where a guy had the same issue:

    https://community.clickteam.com/threads/103010-App-icon-disappearing-when-building?highlight=icon

    It seems like he found a work around, but I'm not sure I understand. He "copied and pasted that icon through the info screens." Which info screens? The ones I just made edits in? How would copy-pasting there be different? Is it the file type?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Mac
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think they're talking about changing the icon via the inspector (right click/control clicking on the finished app, clicking 'get info' and pasting over the existing icon)

    Here's an example video doing this.

    It's been a while since I last exported from the Mac editor though - I *think* when I Airdropped the file from one mac to another to check, it preserved the icon, but downloading it after I uploaded it to itch.io didn't.

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,177
    Mentioned
    279 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I think something has changed some time ago in Xcode and they now store the icon in an asset catalog, probably at some point we recompiled the Mac runtime with a newer version of Xcode and this is when this issue happened. I've tried a few things, but it doesn't seem easy to fix, this might take some time.

    The solution (other than the one mentioned above) is to generate a Mac Xcode Project and build it with Xcode on Mac. In this case the icon is correctly integrated into the assets catalog.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Cobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any luck trying to figure out a solution to this @Yves ?
    It's strange, when looking into the exported app, I can even see my own icon within it. I can't see the default MMF2 icon anywhere inside so have no idea where it is even being pulled from.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check item four of my post here: It has a screenshot of the section in the Xcode that you need to tweak in order to properly show the icon...


    https://community.clickteam.com/threads/107436-Things-to-know-when-you-are-porting-to-Mac

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Cobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for trying to help out @SevenSails .
    As I'm not able to build the xcodeproj in Xcode, I won't be able to use that method.

    It's strange, not only can't I see where the icon is coming from it seems to be hard-coded into our exported apps. Even if I replace the icon then code-sign it, it'll come out of the process with the default icon again.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah, sorry. I can't be of help here as I do use Xcode to change the icons.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Cobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, for some reason exported apps have two sets of icons within them. You have the one we set that gets ignored in the Resources folder. Then you have the default CTF icon in the Assets.car file that overrides our icons.

Similar Threads

  1. Still showing default icon after editing game's icon?
    By YeOldeLuke in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th March 2016, 09:26 PM
  2. Main application's icon reverts back to MMF default...
    By TheHellRazer in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th June 2013, 07:18 PM
  3. Changing layer properties?
    By Storsorgen in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16th August 2012, 02:46 PM
  4. Changing Properties
    By Person in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th September 2008, 04:30 PM
  5. Changing the application icon during runtime?
    By MechatheSlag in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th May 2007, 11:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •