User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Any way to use multiple ink effects?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Any way to use multiple ink effects?

    Normally I use the Set effect to "Flip Horizontally" for all my enemies and character sprites when they walk left so I don't have to make duplicate animations, and that works really great!

    The problem that I noticed just now is only when I use my "Gameboy Overlay"-system which uses the Set effect to "Monochrome". When I have both Flip Horizontally and Monochrome only one of them seems to be able to run at any time, so now my character and all the enemies only have their right-direction.

    Is there any way to work around this? Any way to use two ink effects or any other way to make things monochrome that doesn't interfere with the ink effects? I was thinking about maybe using Replace color RGB and then transform my whole NES-palette into a Gameboy palette, but that seems like such a huge hassle and would probably be very CPU/RAM-demanding.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5+ DLC
    casleziro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    646
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @vSv only one ink effect can be applied to an object at one time. However, layers can also have ink effects. So you can give your active a "flip horizontally" shader, and whole layer the "monochrome" effect.

    A note about the practice of "flip horizontally" though: duplicate animations might be a little more tedious, but they are far more performant than using a shader. @Volnaiskra ran tests to confirm this. If you place your hotspots correctly, it doesn't take much time to copy one direction (by right clicking on the direction arrow), pasting to opposite direction, and right clicking again for "flip horizontally".

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, I didn't know about layers having ink effects, I really gotta try that out! I'll have to test the performance on a weaker system later to see if I get any FPS dips, but if the monochrome layer works it will probably be the easiest solution right now. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    fnkycoldmadeanr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The other way is to combine the shaders into one
    But you probably want to apply the monochrome to the layer in this case

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @casleziro I tested the layer effect and I found one way of changing the layer to monochrome by setting the properties in the frame, but that was a little to static for me as I would like to be able to toggle the effect at any given time. Do you know if there's any way to toggle this at runtime? I only found one way to change this in the event editor and that changed every layer to monochrome which is not really what I want to do.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @fnkycoldmadeanr Yes ideally I would like to set the whole layer to monochrome as it should look like a gameboy game at certain levels.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5+ DLC
    casleziro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    646
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @vSv use the layer object extension. It lets you set an individual layer's (by name or by index) effect.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sweet! Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Shaders and effects for music / sound effects?
    By ratty in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th March 2016, 12:30 AM
  2. Multiple homing missiles with multiple targets
    By royalcrown28 in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st September 2015, 07:51 AM
  3. Effects on layers conflict with effects on objects
    By alxmrg in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th June 2009, 10:03 PM
  4. Importing multiple animations as multiple frames
    By Shawn in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th November 2008, 10:36 PM
  5. Multiple Turret Shooting With Multiple Targets
    By Brandon in forum File Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 03:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •