User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Weird Frame Rate Drop

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Weird Frame Rate Drop

    Hello everybody! I have an issue where I experience MAJOR frame drop. The default frame rate I have it on is 60, but but it would dip to 30 around 2:00 into play time. I only have 120 lines of code and 106 objects in the frame. I do have quick backdrop objects as the background to make it look nice and I switched them to the alpha channel instead of the transparent channel in the sprite editor. So far it's doing fine, but just in case how would I fix this issue?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Mac
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Without seeing an MFA file we would mostly be doing guesswork trying to figure out exactly what's happening.

    If it's the game itself
    - are there are large number of fast loops happening at any one time?
    - even if the object count is low, are there any events that are creating and destroying lots (hundreds or so) of objects at a time?

    If it's the system
    - If you open your task manager/activity monitor, are there any other applications using your CPU, such as an antivirus program?

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by marbenx View Post
    Without seeing an MFA file we would mostly be doing guesswork trying to figure out exactly what's happening.
    My bad. Here's the file

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pf9...ew?usp=sharing

    oh yeah also the level that has this problem is Level 3

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    VBEinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried to get this running, but first you need ultimate full screen.
    LINK:https://ultimatewalrus.com/#ufs

    Then you need bgblurfx. I could not find that to download in order to test fully. Sorry I couldn't help!

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleMac Export Module
    dsilvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    573
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A few elements that can commonly cause slowdown include:

    • Lots of very large graphics (over 1024x1024)
    • Instantly creating multiple objects in a single frame or loop iteration
    • Scaling or rotating lots of objects at once
    • Super packed Always events
    • Objects not being destroyed when they go off screen or otherwise when they're supposed to

    When in doubt, use the new Profiler! It'll show you exactly what line is causing slowdown. Anything event that takes significantly longer than 16ms (we're talking 24ms or more) to render is a very likely culprit.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh jeez. The profiler looks cool, imma pick it up and tell you my results!

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So I have tested the code in the whole frame while I experience a frame drop. results shown in attachment Zom-Boss 11_12_2019 11_33_26 PM.jpg
    It turns out that I actually experience frame drops when I lose health, which in turn gives you a "blood screen" and blur across the whole screen.
    Just a quick update.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleMac Export Module
    dsilvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    573
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oooo that could do it. Is that a full size graphic? My instinct says that could very much be the culprit if it is, but based on how you have it designed, it can be done a lot more cheaply.

    Instead of 2 fullscreen graphics, make a single 1x1 pixel Active. Call it Blood. When you get hit, run a fast loop, "bloodScreen" 5 times. On loop "bloodScreen" create a Blood Active, then test for loop iterations. Depending on the iteration, you'll set the size of the active, position, and alpha:
    • 1 = 32 width, Frame Height; X Position 0, Y Position 0; Alpha Blending Coefficient 128
    • 2 = Frame Width, 32 Height; X Position 0, Y Position 0; Alpha Blending Coefficient 128
    • 3 = 32 Width, Frame Height; X Position (Frame Width - 32), Y Position 0; Alpha Blending Coefficient 128
    • 4 = Frame Width, 32 Height; X Position 0, Y Position (Frame Height - 32); Alpha Blending Coefficient 128
    • 5 = Frame Width, Frame Height; X Position 0, Y Position 0, Alpha Blending Coefficient 224

    This will give you the same exact results while only loading a 1x1 graphic (zero ram) and running a mere 5 scaling calculations.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1st Thought
    I'm gonna be real with you, as you can see, I'm very new to clickteam.
    So I don't know too many memory saving tricks and can't read written ct code.

    Here's what the blood effect does, and how I think about changing it:

    When you get hit the blood screen increases opacity.
    It doesn't get bigger/thicker. (From what my monkey brain understands)
    It is a full graphic (With an additional blur)
    The blood screen has the semi-transparent effect.

    How I think about changing the blood screen:
    Make it a tileable 32x32 or 64x64 graphic.

    2nd Thought
    After re-reading, Do you mean resize the blood screen sprite to 5x less and then resize it in code to 5x larger?
    I might do that with the blur screen.

    Sorry for the late response.
    (Also I kinda got bored of trying to fix this bug but it's just so bad I can't continue on my game. I'm still active on this thread tho)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 40
    Last Post: 14th January 2018, 01:27 PM
  2. Bad/Weird Frame Rate issues?
    By Sinclairian in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th April 2017, 09:14 PM
  3. iPhone 5 app frame rate drop bug [beta 8]
    By UrbanMonk in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 13th February 2013, 10:24 AM
  4. String object frame rate drop.
    By UrbanMonk in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th August 2012, 09:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •