User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Play sample x times on a tablet issue

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Janette5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Western Cape, SA
    Posts
    612
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Play sample x times on a tablet issue

    Play Sample X on Channel 1 x 3 times:

    On Windows it will play 3 times
    On my cell phone it will play 3 times
    On my tablet it will play once or twice (depending on the tablet) but never 3 times

    This problem is not new - it goes way back and continues on 292.18 Any chance it can be fixed?


    .mfa attached
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,333
    Mentioned
    209 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    please confirm i heard 3 times tested in several devices here, video from ZTE982 Blade Max

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1TOPQ8nU-vPFUUgT37AoZU0jb9mQ9Tik_/view?usp=sharing

    please grab me a log from this device and please repot the device specifications
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Janette5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Western Cape, SA
    Posts
    612
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it's working on your devices - then it's probably device specific my side.

    I previously had this on Proline B743DC 4.2.2 - but I just did a factory reset on that device - and now it is working correctly. In the game I had it in, I think it might be a memory issue because on that device animations often don't complete i.e. if a person is turning 360 degrees in 3 seconds using frame animations, on that device they'll only get to 270 degrees. So it probably just didn't get to the 3rd one when there's a lot going on.

    On Blackweb_s90000_v05_20160125 running Android 4.4.2 - it definitely only plays twice - and also in my game it only plays twice - but if it's only happening on this tablet it's not worth bothering with - the tablet itself is problematic.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,333
    Mentioned
    209 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    will need please a fully name for this blackweb device sorry and where to grab the specs., seems not to be easily found on the web, and a full log to see if i catch a missing library to play this type of sounds

    please always remember this from media support format page

    WAV ---> "
    8- and 16-bit linear PCM (rates up to limit of hardware). "

    did you try with 44100 for this sound and test in this device to see if something change?


    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Janette5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Western Cape, SA
    Posts
    612
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The tablet is a store brand - so there's unlikely to be much data on it - anywhere. Specifically all it says is BLackweb S9000 9" manufactured for Dion Wired (Masstores (Pty) Ltd) South Africa followed by MADE IN CHINA

    Details in the manual:

    IMG_20191208_102044.jpg

    Log here: https://1drv.ms/t/s!AgVEPtcaHQ02mNM6...AfRNQ?e=2htdTP
    (MMF Runtime is towards the end of the file)

    Edit:
    The .wav file was just a sample that comes with Fusion that I grabbed to make the example. In my game I was using .mp3. I tried it at different qualities / sizes - the lower the quality / size - the worse the issue got - it would play it once and then give me some garbled sound. The higher the quality it just gave me the sound twice - good, clear, quality - but only twice. (But of course I'm limited to what I can do here - as it has to also work on my cell phone.)

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,333
    Mentioned
    209 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    mm I don't see any issue related to MMFRuntime in your log

    what I see is plenty of memory allocation, can you run your game with all task killed from background, seems to have some of them running.

    how big is this apk you are running in the log above?


    ================================================== ======


    I will put my hands on an old device to do this test, I will let you know my results later
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Janette5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Western Cape, SA
    Posts
    612
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The apk is the soundloop.mfa that I uploaded here - I just replaced the .wav with a .mp3 - 3 936 kb.

    There shouldn't be any background tasks - except that the log was done via my PC with usb cable - so that would be running.

    My game that I picked this up in is 66.26mb unpacked - that's the size on the disk - the apk is about 32.8mb - there's nothing else running, not even the wifi.

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,333
    Mentioned
    209 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    mm i finally put my hand in a old device and yes is happening what you reported only play twice and some mono sounds are not even played.

    but is entirely an internal problem with soundpool, checking not happens from lollipop

    just for test, set this sound to be played from disk and see if they are played 3 times at your side.

    ===============================================

    argh forgot this seems to be an old known issue using soundpool until lollipop

    you may use play from disk to avoid this issue, until I found an easy way to implement this without affecting others
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export Module
    Janette5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Western Cape, SA
    Posts
    612
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It still only plays twice - even when I play it from disk.

    What I did the last time was to repeat the sound in a sound editor and then re-import it and play it just once in the game, I was just trying to avoid having to do that all the time.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,333
    Mentioned
    209 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    mm not here with 4.2 and 4.4.3 they play correctly with your example and another sounds tested.

    unfortunately, is a problem from android itself and soundpool.java and their native code is mentioned in teh google forums they corrected for 5.0 to above

    adding extra code will affect performance in other devices.


    a video here using play from disk in a LG Sporty 50 4.4.2

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/18K0...ew?usp=sharing


    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th June 2018, 06:56 AM
  2. The difference between play sample and play sample 1 time?
    By mobichan in forum iOS Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th August 2016, 05:30 PM
  3. Google Play - Tablet Optimization
    By tom79 in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th August 2013, 10:24 PM
  4. play sample when another sample has finished?
    By edward in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th October 2006, 03:55 PM
  5. Order of "play sample" and "set sample volume".
    By Nifflas in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th September 2006, 08:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •