User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Trouble with workflow for loading things on mac build

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Trouble with workflow for loading things on mac build

    Hello,
    I noticed the Animation>Load Frame doesn't work on mac builds. Is there any technical reason why? Preload image doesn't work too.


    I'm also having trouble to load things from disk, not sure what I'm doing wrong and I've searched the forums but found no working solution.

    I have a file at data\music\maintitle.mp3

    Game executable on the root folder.

    So I'm loading sound file using Appdrive$ + Appdir$ + "data\music\maintitle.mp3" and a simple load of test.txt/ini however this doesn't seem to be working after I exported a mac application. It works fine on windows.

    In this thread https://community.clickteam.com/threads/101398-How-to-save-with-Mac

    I got the following info from Yves

    "1. You just load the file with its normal pathname, Fusion will search for it first in the embedded files. This also works on Mac (for example for the Array or List objects).

    2. Not all the objects (especially video objects, or 3rd party objects) don't support the feature above. In this case you can extract the file to the Windows temp directory with the corresponding action, and then pass the temp filename to the object. This action has no effect on Mac, copy those files to the resources folder of the package."
    So, the Appdrive$ + Appdir$ + file path is not loading anything. The first thing I did was to include the file in binary data from Data Elements. It didn't work. I assume this is method #1.
    Then I tried #2, and copied the file to the resources folder inside the zip and yet didn't work.

    I'm sure this is pretty basic but I'm failing miserably to make it work.

    Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,560
    Mentioned
    208 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I noticed the Animation>Load Frame doesn't work on mac builds. Is there any technical reason why?
    Actually the Mac runtime is based on the iOS runtime and this feature is not supported on iOS. That's the "technical" reason, though other features that aren't available on iOS have been implemented on Mac. I'll check if there is another reason.

    So I'm loading sound file using Appdrive$ + Appdir$ + "data\music\maintitle.mp3" and a simple load of test.txt/ini however this doesn't seem to be working after I exported a mac application. It works fine on windows.
    What happens is that on MacOS directory separators are '/' instead of '\'. Usually '\' are replaced by '/' on Mac, so both should work but apparently something is broken, sorry.

    We'll fix it. In the meantime replace '\' by '/' in your expression, this will work (also on PC, not sure on the other platforms).

    PS: btw you can use Apppath$ instead of Appdrive$ + Appdir$.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Yves, it is working now after I changed to "/".

    about the Apppath$, there is no way to replace them, right?Like a "find and replace" feature on Notepad, but just for the Expression Editor. Just using the new Finder feature and manually edit. Well it's ok.. if both work I'll start using Apppath$, shorter and easier.


    The Animation>Load Frame is a marvelous feature. It can be used to almost instantly translate rasterized/bitmap texts such as this one:


    options_label.png

    that has effects that Fusion don't do such as stroke and gradients. Not only this, it can change skins of characters on the runtime, levels and many, many more. This command is a game changer. If there is no technical limitation for this, I'd love to see this enabled on the Mac exporter.

    Many thanks for your hard work and support Yves.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,560
    Mentioned
    208 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    No there is no Find and Replace in expressions, sorry...

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok.. no big deal... The new search of 2.5+ will be of great help.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yves View Post
    I'll check if there is another reason.
    Is there any technical reason? Can I hope for this feature to be supported on Mac for the first quarter next year or something?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @Yves I'm still waiting if there is another technical reason for Animation>Load Frame is not available on Mac exporter. I can't compile anything without this feature. I'm sorry to be insistent but I'm kinda desperate here

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,560
    Mentioned
    208 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Sorry I've been very busy with other things recently. It's the next thing on my list.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Yves, much appreciated. It will save countless hours of manually loading hundreds and hundreds of files.

Similar Threads

  1. Build Failed ---- Things to check
    By Jeff in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 288
    Last Post: 4th December 2019, 09:43 AM
  2. Trouble loading textures from resource package.
    By PlasmaVoid in forum Firefly
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th March 2019, 03:05 PM
  3. Having trouble loading from an array
    By Sumo in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th February 2018, 11:24 PM
  4. I'm still having trouble loading INIs and TXTs using html5
    By Daryiel in forum HTML5 Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th April 2015, 05:16 AM
  5. Trouble loading images from machine using Flash Image Plus Gold (mfa included)
    By Apex in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11th November 2011, 03:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •