User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: String changes position and it's borders

  1. #11
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by PkR View Post
    I'm sorry but the solution with the Registry 2 object and relaunching the application is a lame hack that users shouldn't be forced to do. The proper way to make an application report as DPI-aware is to embed a manifest file into the executable declaring DPI awareness, as explained here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...-for-a-process
    In fact, just editing the manifests for all EXE files in Fusion's Runtime folder to include DPI awareness completely eliminates the need to mess with registry for any applications built with it. There's no reason this shouldn't be an option in build settings.

    Now the problem with this overall is that most UI controls in Fusion weren't designed to be DPI aware (and Fusion itself isn't either - just look at how Picture Editor's icons look at 150%). So if you build an application that uses UI controls such as buttons or lists, there's a possibility that they will be scaled incorrectly if an application is forced to report as DPI aware. The issue posted in this thread is probably the reverse - the desired positioning of the string appears to have been made for cases when DPI awareness is force enabled like on the developer's PC, while the blurry and offset version reported by the testers is what the "correct" handling of that string is supposed to be, according to Windows anyway.

    I would recommend ditching the String object (if that's what you use for the text) for something that scales more predictably, such as a bitmap font. Maybe Text Blitter? I would still recommend to force enable DPI awareness though, because the entire application will be blurry otherwise.
    I agree that this Registry 2 solution is bonkers and this setting should be included somewhere in Clickteam settings. However, right now I don't have a choice. The problem is that even this solution is not working for some of my testers. And I can't ditch the String object right now - a LOT of my game depend on it (about 2000 lines of code). If I want to release the game on time - I'll have to fix this somehow or even launch a game with this bug... I didn't know Clickteam had so many problems with a simple String object when I was starting to work with it. All tutorials on how to make a text object in a game lead me to believe String was a go-to function.
    Considering enabling DPI awareness to make application not blurry - I've never had a problem with blurriness. Only with text and only with certain PC's. No one (including me) have noticed any problems with blur so far, only the text going out of frame.

    UKPi8oyV2BE.jpg

  2. #12
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,565
    Mentioned
    258 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    mm can you collect the information from users, windows version (complete, not only windows 10 or 8 or 7) it could be a bug in Microsoft
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  3. #13
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando View Post
    mm can you collect the information from users, windows version (complete, not only windows 10 or 8 or 7) it could be a bug in Microsoft
    One of them answered:
    "Windows 10 for 1 language
    Version 1903
    Install date: 18.11.2019
    OS Assembly: 18362.720"

    Is this info enough?

  4. #14
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando View Post
    mm can you collect the information from users, windows version (complete, not only windows 10 or 8 or 7) it could be a bug in Microsoft
    Another tester replied with his Windows version:
    Windows 10 Corporate LTSC
    Version 10.0.17763 Build 17763

    Any info on if it's Microsoft bug?

  5. #15
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by defisym View Post
    Weird.
    Works fine here with these events :
    Why do you make 3 last events with DPIUNAWARE?

  6. #16
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6,565
    Mentioned
    258 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    i will take a look in deep, so far i found this

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/arc...versary-update


    ================================================== =
    @thegd forgot to ask what DX version is this application running?
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

  7. #17
    Clicker Install Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    defisym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thegd View Post
    Why do you make 3 last events with DPIUNAWARE?
    Because Microsoft has three DPI settings : HIGHDPIWARE/DPIUNWARE/GDIDIPSCALING DPIUNWARE
    I want to let players change their settings by change game's config.

  8. #18
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fernando View Post
    i will take a look in deep, so far i found this

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/arc...versary-update

    ================================================== =
    @thegd forgot to ask what DX version is this application running?
    The YouTuber just had this bug on his channel with the text changing scale... https://youtu.be/ui4142YcpNw

    So the DPIAWARE method is not working =(
    I canít even test properly if it works or not because this error does not pop-up on my machine.

    The game was released several days before, so I need to find a solution to this bug fast =\

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th November 2019, 06:40 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th February 2017, 02:45 PM
  3. String Object- Read a single character in any position
    By henryhissagames in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st January 2016, 11:42 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th December 2015, 01:36 AM
  5. String object position problem ?
    By Rushino in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th October 2011, 01:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •