User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't create the "Background System Box"-object anymore?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)
    vSv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Can't create the "Background System Box"-object anymore?

    A long time ago, I made some paralaxing backgrounds that worked really well by using the "Background System Box"-object.

    I always try to minimize the amount of objects created at the start of the frame and instead use the "Create new objects" function whenever I need things at runtime.
    However, earlier when I created my paralaxing backgrounds I just used the "Create new objects" function and created the "Background System Box"-object. But now when I tried to do that it didn't work, my "Background System Box"-objects are simply not showing when trying to create them at runtime and as such it's impossible for me to create them at runtime.

    Anyone else got this problem or know how to fix this?
    Otherwise, ny suggestion how to solve non-animated paralaxing backgrounds without using the "Background System Box"-object? I just need a low performance method of repeating a simple pattern really. Ideally, I would like to have a 32x32 (or any size for that matter) sprite that is repeating itself for infinity in both its X and Y dimension.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,697
    Mentioned
    236 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Background extension objects have been removed from the "Create New Object" dialog box in the build 286.5 because due to a runtime design error only the first instance of those objects is displayed.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)
    vSv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yves View Post
    Background extension objects have been removed from the "Create New Object" dialog box in the build 286.5 because due to a runtime design error only the first instance of those objects is displayed.
    Thanks for the answer Yves!
    I guess I have to find another way to create the paralax scrollings from now on.

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @vSv for paralax scrollings? That's new to me...
    How exactly this was working? O.o

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)
    vSv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NaitorStudios View Post
    @vSv for paralax scrollings? That's new to me...
    How exactly this was working? O.o
    The way I did it was this (all "Paralax"-thingies are Background System Box Objects):

    [Paralax Head Group]
    • Run this event once
    Create "Paralax 1" @ 0,0 Layer 1
    Create "Paralax 2" @ 0,0 Layer 1
    Create "Paralax 3" @ 0,0 Layer 1
    Create "Paralax 4" @ 0,0 Layer 1

    [Paralax 1 Group] (These are clouds that move by themselves without the player moving)
    • Group "Paralax 1" is activated
    "Paralax 1": Set dimensions to (Frame Width + 800, 96)
    "Paralax 1": Set Position to (Alterable Value A("Paralax 1), Y Top Frame)
    "Paralax 1": Sub 1 from Alterable Value A

    • Alterable Value A of "Paralax 1" is <= -800
    "Paralax 1": Set Alterable Value A to 0

    [Paralax 2 Group]
    • Group "Paralax 2" is activated
    "Paralax 2": Set dimensions to (Frame Width, 144)
    "Paralax 2": Set Position to (X Left Frame /1.5, 96)

    [Paralax 3 Group]
    • Group "Paralax 3" is activated
    "Paralax 3": Set dimensions to (Frame Width, 112)
    "Paralax 3": Set Position to (X Left Frame /1.9, 240)

    [Paralax 4 Group]
    • Group "Paralax 4" is activated
    "Paralax 4": Set dimensions to (Frame Width, 128)
    "Paralax 4": Set Position to (X Left Frame /1.8, 352)


    The result of this can be seen in this old video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yl5i...&index=24&t=1s

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @vSv interesting, did you use this because of problems with the native parallax using layers?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)
    vSv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NaitorStudios View Post
    @vSv interesting, did you use this because of problems with the native parallax using layers?
    It was mainly a combination of it being my first time trying to do parallax scrolling and also that I didn't want to have 2-4 different layers dedicated for each of my different parallax scrollings. I haven't really tried any parallax scrollings yet as my game is mostly just NES style. It was only the Kid Chameleon part that had the parallax scrolling and I haven't really worked on that theme in ages.

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see, still interesting tho
    Layers are not that intensive, and you can have lots of with with no problem
    You can actually do something different...
    Having a single layer and use a shader to scroll each part in a different rate

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th June 2016, 06:05 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th March 2015, 06:42 AM
  3. "Create new objects" doesn't create a physics object?
    By Literswater in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th May 2014, 08:42 PM
  4. Issues with "Overlapping an Object / background" and 'User Clicks".
    By redpandagames in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th November 2012, 04:41 AM
  5. is "paste image into background" & "add backdrop" the same thing?
    By jaaj302005 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th December 2011, 07:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •