User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: Best way to make Castlevania map?

  1. #11
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    seep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi guys,
    Thanks for the advices...

    My game Is Just a experiment, I think the game Will have 60 rooms.
    I think are 60 objects Isn't a huge problem for the ram, but I have a doubt: how many groups can save .INI?
    The my idea Is make a actvice object with variable A on 1 when character visit that room, so I add condizioni reapear image in start frame. Very Easy... But I Hope that not causing problems with INI or RAM

  2. #12
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Mac

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am working on a metroidvania engine right now:

    ---

    (NSFW)

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BT-q2BihyLM&t=3s

    ---

    My logic is, I have and editor engine that runs together with the ingame engine (This saves a lot of time).

    Whenever I save values to the array, for objects and tilesets, they will be saved for the specific array of that room. I have one different array for each room, with different name depending on the room code.

    This may seen a bit much, but I think it's dangerous to place everything on a single array for the whole game.

    I then load rooms according to specific neutral room passages (pretty much like SOTN).

    All this running in a single frame

  3. #13
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why do you think it's dangerous to place everything on a single array for the whole game? Care to elaborate?

    Thanks,
    Marv
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  4. #14
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Mac

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A huge game like SOTN would have tons of rooms and, even though you can spread values to "X,Y,Z" I fell you run the risk of the array size becoming way too big to proper load what do you want.

    Also, in the case you are still developing the game, you run the risk of messing things up and mess up the whole single array you are using to load your game. Maybe a good solution for this would be to implement a custom backup array system.

    I am more comfortable working with multiple arrays, I can open a single one and check it if I want, and I need to worry less about arrays with huge dimensions.

  5. #15
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by PandaExplosion View Post
    A huge game like SOTN would have tons of rooms and, even though you can spread values to "X,Y,Z" I fell you run the risk of the array size becoming way too big to proper load what do you want.

    Also, in the case you are still developing the game, you run the risk of messing things up and mess up the whole single array you are using to load your game. Maybe a good solution for this would be to implement a custom backup array system.

    I am more comfortable working with multiple arrays, I can open a single one and check it if I want, and I need to worry less about arrays with huge dimensions.
    Makes sense to me. It's hard to argue that logic.

    Thanks,
    Marv
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  6. #16
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Jonathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't forget that for games like SOTN, everything is not on one big map but rather divided into several parts. The cave zone will be on one array, the entrance on another, etc...
    For my Metroidvania Games, I prefer to use a single frame for the all game, but divided for each room. I also created a Tool for Minimap, where I sync value with the name of the map :

    inexistencemap.png
    Probably not the best way, but it's worked pretty well.

  7. #17
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    chrilley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,013
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    On the same subject do you guys have a clever solution for "exact minimap exploration"? For instance, currently my map will render both a 256x256 and 1024x1024 sized areas as 8x8 tiles on the map even though the latter should take up more space on the map and not be fully explored the moment player enters the room. It is a bit misleading to the player.

    I have a couple of approaches I haven't tried out but it feels like I am re-inventing the wheel here...

  8. #18
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    seep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    Don't forget that for games like SOTN, everything is not on one big map but rather divided into several parts. The cave zone will be on one array, the entrance on another, etc...
    For my Metroidvania Games, I prefer to use a single frame for the all game, but divided for each room. I also created a Tool for Minimap, where I sync value with the name of the map :

    inexistencemap.png
    Probably not the best way, but it's worked pretty well.
    Yep, I start to making the map. I used a Global value for the linear parts, and the strings for optional parts. Also in the begin I save some variables because the player needs finding the map.

    Note: Are you the dev of Inexistence? Great game, I have it on my Steam!

  9. #19
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Jonathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I am! Very happy that you enjoy the game, thank you.
    Hope you'll be able to make a greater Metroidvania on your side, I'll keep an eye on this!

  10. #20
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,393
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chrilley View Post
    On the same subject do you guys have a clever solution for "exact minimap exploration"? For instance, currently my map will render both a 256x256 and 1024x1024 sized areas as 8x8 tiles on the map even though the latter should take up more space on the map and not be fully explored the moment player enters the room.
    What's the specific issue? It sounds like you just need to represent the 1024x1024 area using a 4x4 tile area of the mini-map?
    To find the player's "world" position, you just need to know their room (frame) position, and the position of the top-left corner of the room within the world. The last of those could either be stored in the map array for each room, or calculated by comparing the frame position at which the player entered the current room, and the frame position at which they exited the previous room.

    + player moves from one room to another
    -> topleft.y = lopleft.y + exit.y - enter.y
    -> topleft.x = lopleft.x + exit.x - enter.x

    + always
    -> player.world.x = player.x + topleft.x
    -> player.world.y = player.y + topleft.y

    ...and then obviously you can just divide the world coordinates by 256 to get the mini-map coordinates.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Castlevania Whip Example
    By Sparckman in forum Guides, Tutorials, Examples, Widgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd June 2014, 06:16 PM
  2. Castlevania stairs
    By Atherton in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 03:08 PM
  3. Castlevania Sprites and SFX
    By piscesdreams in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd December 2007, 07:47 PM
  4. Castlevania help
    By piscesdreams in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th December 2007, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •