User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: How to best select one object when over instances of same object?

  1. #11
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLC

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,490
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Outcast View Post
    What I have here are 4 identical objects that overlap and I want to "select" the object that the mouse overlaps, but I only want to select one at a time even though the mouse might actually overlap several at a time. The most "logical" way I find is to insert in the condition to select one object at random, but the problem then is that it selects one object at random every frame so it ends up flickering between all the objects the mouse is overlapping.
    Just to answer that part of your question, and this might not be what you want, but I would have thought it more normal to pick the front-most object.
    If you're only targeting the windows runtime, I believe the "Select Object" extension can let you do that in a single line. If not, you can use the fact that the "Spread value in alterable value" action assigns values in order from front to back. Something like this:


    + Always
    -> Object: Set alterable A to -1

    + Mouse is over object
    + Player clicks
    -> Object: Spread value 0 in alterable A

    + Mouse is over object
    + Player clicks
    + Object: Alterable A == 0
    -> Object: Do stuff...

  2. #12
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,367
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aenever View Post
    Is this what you're after?

    Attachment 31061

    Thank you, but no I want the frame animation to continue on like nothing have happened. Not freeze on any one frame as you move the mouse over it.

  3. #13
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,367
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I:E the frame animation should not be affected by the mouse over.

  4. #14
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,124
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not actually stopping the animation, but switching between two animations because of the Always event.
    It's easy to solve tho. Also, please join the discord server, we can talk instantly there
    Attached files Attached files

  5. #15
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,367
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NaitorStudios View Post
    It's not actually stopping the animation, but switching between two animations because of the Always event.
    It's easy to solve tho. Also, please join the discord server, we can talk instantly there
    Thanks for the example but I notice it does not work right here either. The animation frame jumps to frame 1 when you mouse over. So the animation frame could be on 3 but as soon as you mouse over it jumps back to 1.

    Is "Click Converse" the discord server? I am a member there but which channel is often used since I don't see so many channel categories on it, is "clicktips"? the place to ask for help?

  6. #16
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLC

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,490
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This any good?
    Selectmm.mfa

    Note the "Do not reset current frame duration..." option in the compatibility section of the object's runtime properties.

  7. #17
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,124
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could simply use animation directions instead of separated animations, this way it won't reset the animation frame and wouldn't require storing it anywhere.

  8. #18
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    fnkycoldmadeanr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    285
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can narrow down selection based on z-order the layer object might be useful iirc

  9. #19
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,367
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MuddyMole View Post
    This any good?
    Selectmm.mfa

    Note the "Do not reset current frame duration..." option in the compatibility section of the object's runtime properties.
    This seems to do it!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th December 2020, 01:08 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th March 2018, 06:06 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th May 2015, 07:16 PM
  4. Object order problem with multiple instances of the same object
    By tom79 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 1st November 2011, 06:38 PM
  5. [Request]Select Object - Select in events?
    By LB in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th July 2009, 10:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •