User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: [Request] Saturation mask DX11 with added feature

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Request] Saturation mask DX11 with added feature

    I would like a shader that works like Muddymole's Saturation Mask but I was wonder if it would also be possible to add a user set parameters like
    Saturation = value (anything covered in mask would be set to this) ?

    This would enable the option of doing effects with oversaturation like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	saturn.png 
Views:	51 
Size:	52.2 KB 
ID:	31181

    (maybe it would be better to switch it around ie. anything not covered in mask gets set to saturation)

    Pinging @MuddyMole since you made this and I'm linking to your file (hope this is ok).

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think this is what you want.
    Attached files Attached files

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, man you are fast!
    Thank you!

    I would like the effect to be blendable in this way:
    saturatedlights.mfa

    As seen it can be achieved by adding a lighten (photoshop blend mode) shader on the mask object but maybe it would be more efficient if it could do this on its own?
    Is there a better way or should I just do it like this?

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you asking for is impossible to do with a single shader.
    Since it's sampling the layer, it can only see what's in the layer, and in the layer the objects are covering each other.
    So you have to merge the light sources with a blending shader anyway. The shader applied to the layer can't possible differentiate each individual object.

    The only possible way of doing this in a more natural way would be using a palette or LUT (Color Grading) shader, cause then it would be able to do the stepped blended light in a natural way.
    Problem is that colors might not look exactly like you want, and blended light sources may increase the general size of it.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    BTW, this is what the shader sees... Can't imagine how it supposed to know what to blend


  6. #6
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    BUT... If you get the greyscale colors and move into alpha channel, then paint main image entirely white, you can blend it.
    This means I will need to add a alpha channel toggle for this to work.

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, so I've tested having a toggle and a influence of alpha parameter, both doesn't behave as expected on DX11, no idea why.
    Either way, it doesn't look exactly like your picture, it nearby light sources would combine making a bigger light source, it would kinda of still be stepped, but lighter steps would combine creating a in between color.
    This in between color would not happen with the brightest point of the light source, but still not what you showed.

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's a pic in case you want to see how it would look without the lighten shader and using alpha channel on the light sources...


  9. #9
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,345
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, here's a small fix, alpha was causing problems, I think I forgot it enabled on DX9
    Attached files Attached files

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right. Yeah, the in between colors is not the desired effect.
    I'm a bit confused, did you add the alpha channel toggle or was this just something you tested? Is there any difference in DX11 in the two versions you've posted ?

    In any case I'm happy with the effect SaturationMask 2 + lighten gives me. I'm only concerned about performance as my project can use 100+ lightsources and I figured using 1 fullscreen shader would be better/faster than using that plus another shader on 100+ objects. But I'm only guessing here, maybe it won't even matter. I need to do more tests.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Request] Tile normal map DX11
    By contra in forum Shader Development
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 14th February 2022, 04:00 PM
  2. [REQUEST] Anaglyph Shader DX11
    By Veinhelm in forum Shader Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th February 2022, 11:02 PM
  3. (Request) Array Object with more added features.
    By lootercuster in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th May 2015, 06:45 PM
  4. [Request] Added features to Ray Casting Object
    By Disthron in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 29th October 2009, 11:01 PM
  5. [request] Runtime Hue Saturation For ActivePicture
    By MelliGeorgiou in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th November 2006, 06:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •