User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Out of Frame Behavior Different On Mac Compared to Windows

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    tobydavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Bug with Window Control Object] Cannot resize frame on Mac

    Hello, I'm trying to create an editor with a dynamic interface. I didn't like the way that the automatic resize (resize display to fill window size) worked, so I created an application with a large frame size for the editor, enabled the do not center frame in window option, and scaled + positioned any elements at the bottom (or right side) of the editor based on the client size values retrieved from the Window Object. Currently there isn't much in the application at the moment, just a (blank) bottom bar which is made out of an Active System Box Object and a couple of lists docked in the top left which will show all of the objects that are loaded into the editor. On Windows, when I expand the application, the bottom bar scales perfectly on the Y axis to the new application width and stays positioned at the bottom of the application (set the Y position to ClientHeight("Window Control") - 32). I also have some Active Objects hidden out of the default frame area (980x622) which show up in frame when the window is expanded. However, when I run this application on my Mac, all content outside of the default 980x622 frame size just disappears (no matter what the frame size is internally). So when I resize the window, the active objects do not show up and the bottom bar disappears as its Y coordinate goes outside of the default frame size. Is there a way to fix this behavior on Mac or is it a bug? I've attached the MFA file I'm using for testing and the Mac build of the application.

    Behavior of editor application on Windows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoxi5BShFmE

    Behavior of editor application on Mac: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifn2JOMXCOQ

    Windows Testing System:
    Running Application in the Clickteam Fusion 2.5 editor with F8 (I have the 2.5+ DLC installed (I didn't use any of the DLC's features for this app so far) and am running Build 293.10)
    Windows 7 Service Pack 1
    8GB RAM
    AMD HD 8570 GPU
    Intel Core i5-3470 @ 3.20 GHz

    Mac Testing System:
    Running application as an .APP file (which was compiled from Fusion on my Windows machine)
    MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2009)
    Mac OS X El Capitan (Version 10.11.6)
    6GB RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53 GHz

    Note: I am also using a patched version of the Window Control object for Mac which Fernando sent to me to test before the fix was officially incorporated into Fusion build 294 (which was related to a different Mac-related issue I reported). Since this issue is related to the frame and the use of the Window Control object to control certain elements of the application, I feel that it was necessary to mention.

    This issue also still occurs on the latest Beta 294.9 build.
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Mac
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have the mac exporter so this is just guessing, but have you tried the following:

    Using 'Y bottom frame - 32' instead of '"ClientHeight("Window Control") - 32'
    (seemed to work the same on windows)

    Turning off 'destroy object if too far from frame' and 'inactivate if too far from window'

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    tobydavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by marbenx View Post
    I don't have the mac exporter so this is just guessing, but have you tried the following:

    Using 'Y bottom frame - 32' instead of '"ClientHeight("Window Control") - 32'
    (seemed to work the same on windows)

    Turning off 'destroy object if too far from frame' and 'inactivate if too far from window'
    I appreciate the suggestion, unfortunately this did not fix the Mac build. Anything outside of the default frame size still disappears when resizing the window. On Windows everything is still fine though.

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    tobydavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I added some counters to the application and set them equal to the different values available from the Window Control Object. I noticed that the WinXSize, WinYSize, ClientWidth, and ClientHeight variables were correct on both Windows and Mac, and that they all changed in accordance to the changes in the application window. However, the FrameXSize and FrameYSize variables in the Window Control object (which is what I change in order to make more parts outside of the default frame size available as the window size changes) do not change on Mac when the window size is changed, no matter how I resize the application. I'm guessing this is some kind of bug.

    I've attached screenshots of the editor showing both of the ClientWidth and ClientHeight variables on Windows and Mac.

    This is the code I use to set the Frame window to the client width (which seems to do nothing on Mac):

    * Always
    Window Control : Set width of Frame window to ClientWidth( "Window Control" ), adjust frame size = 1
    Window Control : Set height of Frame window to ClientHeight( "Window Control" ), adjust frame size = 1


    I also built this application with the 294.9 beta build and can confirm that the bug still occurs while running the exported application on Mac.
    Images attachées Images attachées
    Attached files Attached files

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Fernando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7,610
    Mentioned
    298 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    I will check in a bit.
    Regards,


    Fernando Vivolo

    ... new things are coming ...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 20th May 2019, 05:47 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19th January 2015, 08:41 PM
  3. different behavior in android and windows
    By pradeep in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th February 2014, 12:16 AM
  4. Odd Behavior of MMF with Windows 8 Preview
    By droberson in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2012, 02:30 PM
  5. Strange frame rate behavior
    By BrashMonkey in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th March 2012, 10:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •