User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problems with .png images when resizing

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problems with .png images when resizing

    Hello!

    I'm making sprites for my game. These sprites are actually renders made in Cinema 4D in .png format.
    Well, the problem is: when I import the image in Clickteam, I have no problems. But, when I resize the image, it appears with green pixels surrounding it.

    Because of that, the sprites looks "horrible" in-game.
    Anyone knows what is causing this?
    Images attachées Images attachées

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's due to how you rendered that, behind the fully transparent pixels, there's this green, you can either change that color to black or use a different type of alpha when rendering.

    If you disable transparency, you'll see that the empty parts are actually green.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the answer! I'll try these tips.

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    tobydavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CommanderSilva View Post
    Hello!

    I'm making sprites for my game. These sprites are actually renders made in Cinema 4D in .png format.
    Well, the problem is: when I import the image in Clickteam, I have no problems. But, when I resize the image, it appears with green pixels surrounding it.

    Because of that, the sprites looks "horrible" in-game.
    Anyone knows what is causing this?
    Naitor is right, it's probably due to how the image itself was rendered in Cinema 4D. Could you post an image of your render settings (things like the "Save", "Options", and "Anti-Aliasing" sections)? Also, which renderer are you using and was the original image rendered with a transparent background? The only reason I could think that this would happen was if the alpha channel was configured incorrectly or if the image was rendered with a green-colored background which was later keyed out (either in an image editor or when importing into Fusion).

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello, toby!

    The renders were made using this process:

    In Cinema 4D, I accessed Render Settings. In "Save" section, I just selected a box called "Alpha Channel" and the .png format for the render. Boom, renders with transparent background!

    Inside Clickteam, I managed to solve the problem just setting the transparent color to black (it was selected to green before) before importing the image.

    I'm so sorry for the (VERY) late answer!

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLC

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,553
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PNGs always use straight alpha. Fusion, in "Direct3D 11" display mode, uses pre-multiplied alpha by default. I'll bet if you untick that box, it would also solve all your problems (pre-multiplied alpha is a pain in the ass).

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleFirefly 3D ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Mac Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    NaitorStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But, heard from Yves that Premultiplied mode was actually done to fix a lot of issues with effects, specially related to layers...
    It's the only mode that will not mess up the colors and alpha when effects are applied to layers.

    Here's what I'm talking about:


  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLC

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,553
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I totally get the logic behind it (there's an excellent explanation here: https://developer.nvidia.com/content...pre-or-not-pre ), but it's still a pain in the ass.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    VBEinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    742
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use GIMP ( FREE SOFTWARE ) to make ALPHA Graphics out of any other Graphic programs I use to make the Graphics.
    As you mentioned, some programs add numerous Alpha Layers and when you resize them in fusion those GREEN layers become visible.
    Typically I just Use GIMP to make all graphics as there is no issue when importing the Graphics to Fusion.
    However, you can also use GIMP to (FLATTEN) merge all layers into one. Which will show the Green layer.
    You can then Remove the GREEN Layer with GIMP as well by making it the Standard ALPHA of the Image.
    BE DEFAULT, GIMP USES BLACK
    So when you flatten your image you will see the green behind it and you can then change the Alpha Color Selection to the Green.

    Below is a little Sample.
    One image made with CINEMA 4D Software.
    One image Fixed with Gimp.
    Both running in Fusion!


  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    VBEinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    742
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, something else to consider when resizing is that when it zooms in. You will see the Bits.

    At the end of each race you will see a GIMP made Image, Starting at normal. Then Zoomed all the way in and Faded out at the same time.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2019, 12:29 AM
  2. Resizing android images on android
    By MrNaif in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st September 2017, 03:30 PM
  3. Problems with resizing an image's width
    By Retrobolt in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th July 2016, 04:40 AM
  4. Problems with Window Resizing
    By Soilydude in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th April 2016, 12:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •