User Tag List

Thread: Roadmap for MMF2?

Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Roadmap for MMF2?

First off, Im loving MMF2 so far, Im an old school 'Klicker' who has returned after a five years of being afk with my first child.

I have researched the current crop of tools that are out there and STILL find MMF to be the easiest for a person like myself to accomplish anything worthwhile (Im an artist & my brain stumbles when it comes to 'hard-core code').

My question involves the DirectX support in MMF2.
    It seems MMF2 lies in some grey area of support of DirectX.

I KNOW DirectX can improve performance on certain games/apps, but I am confused on exactly what parts of DirectX MMF utilizes.

I suspect there is not a 'full' integration w/DirectX, I could understand the reluctance to NOT tie MMF to close to DirectX in order to remain platform independant, BUT, there seem to be no plans for a Mac or Linux runtime.

Could somebody 'In the know' shed some light on this subject?

I have read somewhere that MMF does not tap into the acceleration of vid cards, Im very curious as to why this is since even low budget cards offer some sort of acceleration nowadays.

(Im struggling with doing a decent smoke effect in my current game. 640x480 res, multiple layers, and adding a ton of semi-transparent sprites is not playing nice with my framerate.)

Clickteam Clickteam
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

Re: Roadmap for MMF2?

"In the know"

Thats really only Yves and Francois. So not a lot of people to choose from and anything you hear from other people would be rumor and speculation.

MMF2/TGF2 is constantly being worked on and improved and I think you will enjoy some of the improvements coming up next year. Sorry I can not go into it but it does address some of the issues you raised in your post.