User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: creating folders on install?

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    creating folders on install?

    Hi - great program guys. Thanks.

    The problem:

    I am installing four file folders, 1 to one folder called <aircraft>, 3 to a second folder higher up the tree called <gauges>.

    The main install directory is the one for the aircraft folder. If the folder within <aircraft> doesn't exist, CI asks if I want a folder created? Yes please. All is good.

    The other three folders are then sent to the folder called <gauges>. I know how to do this - bottom right window of GUI-windows-other-path. There is no problem getting the 'content' of my parent folders into the destination folder, but I can't get CI to create the three folders for this info to go into. If it doesn't go into three appropriately named folders then the information will not be revealed in the correct path when the program opens i.e. no gauges.

    I have tried including <\> at the end of the path, and I've tried it without. Of course, I could just create the folders manually, but then why have an installer?

    I'm sure there is a simple way to do this? I have had a pretty good look at the info here, but nothing seems to answer this one for me.

    In summary, I can install to different areas, but I can't get the folders to 'create' in a new directory, only their content?

    PLEASE help. I am way behind with this project already. Now it's just the install package that's holding me up :-(

    Cheers
    Gair

  2. #2
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: creating folders on install?

    O.K. so I screwed up. In the interest of anyone else experiencing the same 'screwy mindset' this is what I was trying to do.

    Source folder had four folders in it. I wanted three to go to a separate location to the first folder, and they needed to create themselves AS folders when they got there.

    My four folders were called, roughly,
    <aircraftXX>
    <GaugeOne>
    <GaugeTwo>
    <Gaugethree>

    The aircraft went to the <aircraft> folder in FS2004 as the MAIN INSTALL DIRECTORY using Click Install.

    In the drop down list on the left of the GUI in Click Install was listed the folders and their contents.
    e.g.
    GaugeOne\HSI
    GaugeOne\AI
    etc
    etc

    I highlighted all of the files beginning with GaugeOne (i.e. all of the CONTENTS of the 'GaugeOne' FOLDER in the SOURCE FILE). leave them highlighted, go down to the bottom right, click the 'windows' tab, select the drop-down and select 'other'. In the next window space down you can either type or 'paste' the path/destination for your files. (tip: you can right click the file, select 'properties', select general and 'copy' the path that presents itself to the right of 'location')

    For me this was something like...

    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\FS9\Gauges

    Now, when I tried it like this I assumed that, because the source folder had a folder in it called GaugeOne, and the files listed in the left panel og the Click Install GUI had GaugeOne\ before the file information... I assumed the folders would install as folders. They didn't. They just installed the contents of the folders to;

    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\FS9\Gauges

    HOW DO YOU DO IT?

    On the left side of the Click Install GUI, highlight all of the folders that start with, in this example, GaugeOne\xxx. Complete the steps outlined above for the destination, but when you type the path you must type;

    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\FS9\Gauges\GaugeOne

    Select all the files starting with GaugeTwo\xxx, repeat the steps above and for the destination type;

    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\FS9\Gauges\GaugeTwo

    You probably see the pattern now

    Anyway, I had an issue with this. I solved it, albeit with a bit of a red face [blush] and thought I should share my answer with the forum in case someone else is wondering how to do it

    Cheers
    Gair

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,047
    Mentioned
    279 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Re: creating folders on install?

    Yes, the original folder is ignored when you install a file to a custom directory, you have to specify it in the install path.

    Just a note: you should replace C:\Program Files by #Program Files#, as the pathname of this folder may be different.

    Yves.

Similar Threads

  1. creating folders during runtime
    By dascribe in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 29th August 2010, 06:31 PM
  2. Creating empty directories with Install Creator
    By AndyC in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd July 2009, 06:22 AM
  3. Creating Install Program
    By Jaffob in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th May 2008, 11:02 AM
  4. Install hidden folders
    By selst in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th April 2008, 04:01 PM
  5. creating folders (directorys) with file object
    By Dave in forum File Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st March 2008, 01:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •