User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Application memory runtime requirement

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Application memory runtime requirement

    I see that in MMF2 you can view the memory requirement while it is running. Is there a good rule of thumb that one can use as for how large a frame should be? For example:

    Pent I with 512meg no more than 6meg running

    Pent III with 2 gigi no more than 12meg running

    I hope I am relaying what I am asking.

    Thanks for your input.

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Application memory runtime requirement

    The memory requirement isn't that important, as long as it isn't larger than the system's memory. On large frames the problem is more likely to be with having lots of active objects. Every object in the frame at a time uses cpu. There's no real guide, you'll have to test.

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Application memory runtime requirement

    What I do is open the Task Manager and check the memory and CPU usage from there.

    You can do this by pressing ALT-CTRL-DEL to bring up the Task Manager (depending on settings you might need to click the Task Manager button after ALT-CTRL-DEL).

    If for some reason that doesn't work just go Start>Run and type in taskmgr and click OK.

    Than click the Processes tab and find your game in the list.

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Application memory runtime requirement

    Ctrl-Shift-Escape is safer than Ctrl-Alt-Del, and always brings up the task manager.

    On Windows XP you can also right-click on an empty space on the task-bar and pick "Task Manager" off the list.

    Enjoy.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    DavidN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Application memory runtime requirement

    Now why didn't I know about those two? Thanks for that, Dynasoft.

Similar Threads

  1. MMF2 Runtime Memory Inconsistency
    By Kid_Roleplay in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 02:08 AM
  2. Out of Memory when building the application?
    By Gimbabwe in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th August 2012, 10:39 PM
  3. [CRASH] Memory Object Runtime Crash with Allocate(
    By LB in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th September 2011, 09:04 AM
  4. Logo requirement?
    By Outcast in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st February 2011, 06:50 PM
  5. Virtual Memory drastically improving runtime?
    By Pixelthief in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th March 2009, 12:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •