User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    Under the help menu in MMF2, there's an item called 'check for update'. I was just wondering if this is even functional yet.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    JasonDarby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,925
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    Yes. But it wont work if youve already updated to the latest patch.

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Land of raging rockets
    Posts
    1,231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    And it doesn't update to beta patches.

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,518
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    I don't know if it'll automatically update from one version of a build to another, only from one build to another (e.g I don't think it will automatically update from #244 Beta to #244 Final, but would update to #245).
    .:::.Joshtek.:::.

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Land of raging rockets
    Posts
    1,231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    It won't, because Clickteam doesn't enable betas for updating. Only final releases are seen by the updater.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    JasonDarby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,925
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    Random is correct, to enable beta downloads could be a bit of a nightmare if there was a problem with a build. So only once a release has been released and checked will it be added to the upload list.

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,518
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    Quote Originally Posted by jasondarby
    Random is correct, to enable beta downloads could be a bit of a nightmare if there was a problem with a build. So only once a release has been released and checked will it be added to the upload list.
    I meant if you downloaded the beta then it wouldn't download the final non-beta version automatically when it was released. Unless I am mistaken.
    .:::.Joshtek.:::.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    Yeah, I believe Joshtek is right, which is why I agree that builds need to have a letter after them or something, so Build144 (beta1) is distinguishable from Build144 (beta6). Cause right now, if I were to try and look which beta of 144 I had... I'd have no idea of how to do it. MMF2 just says I use 144. hehe

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DJFuego's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,410
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is the Check for Update thing even functional?

    I don't think the update feature is flawed in any way.
    The way CT are releasing Beta updates is the right way. you have the option not to download it and break MMF2

Similar Threads

  1. Faster to run always check distance vs always check collision?
    By Outcast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th September 2013, 09:28 PM
  2. Unable to connect to Clickteam or check for update
    By Keli in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 16th July 2009, 03:19 PM
  3. thing thing movement
    By Pritchy96 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd May 2008, 03:08 AM
  4. Request to make level editors more functional...
    By Nifflas in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st December 2006, 02:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •