User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Object in different layers won't communicate

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Object in different layers won't communicate

    I had two sets of active objects that make an action on collision.
    I moved half of them to another layer to ease my work.
    Now none of the collisions work produce any results.
    They seem to only work if they are in the same layer.
    Is there a way for objects to communicate if they are in different layers?

  2. #2
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Object in different layers won't communicate

    yeah, i've noticed that too...

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,654
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Object in different layers won't communicate

    not that i know of...

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Object in different layers won't communicate

    No, it's supposed to be like that.

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Britain, South Coast
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Object in different layers won't communicate

    This is deliberate. The simple workaround is this:

    If we call the objects on our main layer Object A and the ones on another layer Object B,

    We must create an object on the main layer, and make it follow Object B's coordinates. We'll call this new object 'Object B Colision Mask'

    Then you test collisions, not between Object A and Object B, but between Object A and Object B Colision Mask, since these are on the same layer.

    Do you see what I mean?

    You can't use MMF's COLISION engine between layers, but you CAN use 'set position'. I found this when creating a sun-glare system. The sun is on a paralax layer behind everything, and there's a big yellow object on the top of everything, which is supposed to give a glare effect.

    The sun has a bunch of detectors following it on the main layer, to test if objects and obstacles are blocking the sun. Depending on how much of the sun is blocked, the yellow glare will be stronger or weaker.

  6. #6
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Object in different layers won't communicate

    Thanks

    I already got this method by myself.
    It makes my application a little more complex but eases up formatting.

    Thanks for all your replies

Similar Threads

  1. Using dotNet to communicate with game servers
    By Mathias in forum dotNet Scripting
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 23rd August 2015, 10:40 AM
  2. Can MMF 2 communicate with a cloud based database?
    By Grim_Jester in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th November 2012, 04:50 AM
  3. Communicate with PayPal or my website?
    By uncleswell in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd January 2011, 03:26 AM
  4. Communicate with web browser
    By Dagge in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th April 2009, 06:11 PM
  5. communicate with javascript?
    By Chokito in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th June 2008, 04:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •