User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxes

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxes

    Hello:
    I am a new user to the MMF2 and ClickTeam product, but not new to programming. I am a Flash Actionscript(2-3) coder and Web Developer who is having some issues with translating those skills to MMF2 way of doing things. I think the problem is the fact i do not have access to the traditional ways of doing, so I am probably over-complicating things. Enough of the rambling and on to my Question:

    How would I go about creating multiple edit boxes (or assets in general) and positioning them dynamically at runtime?

    In Flash this would be a simple loop iteration using the loop variable to set the name dynamically, allowing me to set the position of each on every iteration of the loop.

    I got the loop going in MMF2, but do not know how to set the name of the edit boxes or position them based on the loop.

    Any help, points in the right direction or examples would greatly be appreciated.

    Sean

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxe

    MMF2 is not a scripting language- you don't need to rename them. Just use "Create an object" under the Create object column to make the edit box (put it anywhere) and then use Position > Set X position and Set Y Position under the edit box column to move it.

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxe

    Thanks for the quick response Jam.
    Ok, but if these are being created dynamically how do I specify which to position?

    Unless what you are saying is that it automatically references the current created object?

    For example:
    Lets say I am creating some type of xml editor or something and I parse the xml to pull out certain tag data and place each piece of data in its own edit box. Because the xml document could contain any number of specified tags, I need to create the edit boxes based on the number of tags and then position each edit box relative to the other. So say there are 4 specified tags, I would need to create 4 edit boxes and then position those 4.

    So in regard to the above example you are saying, I would not need to have a object specific id or name in order to position each?

    Sean

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxe

    It automatically references the created object.

    If you want to single them out later, give them an ID as you create them- after positioning an edit box, set it's Alterable value A to the number of edit boxes created. This will number them 1, 2, 3, 4 and you can choose one with the condition "Alterable value A of Edit box = 2" or "Alterable value A of Edit box = 3".

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxe

    Ok, thanks for the help. I will play with this and see if I can get it to work as needed. I definitely see now that I will have to recondition the current way I think when dealing with MMF2.

    Sean

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    drnebula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Dynamically creating and positioning edit boxe

    Or after you have created them, you can run the spread value action and that will give them all an alterable value starting from whatever value you set.
    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. Compare two edit boxes
    By loglady in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st May 2013, 09:38 PM
  2. Sync bug when creating/positioning an object?
    By JoKa in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th July 2010, 10:24 AM
  3. MMF too small edit boxes
    By Tiles in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th December 2007, 11:14 AM
  4. Creating edit boxes at runtime w/ different names
    By Anfini in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd December 2007, 04:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •