User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Confused about HWA slowdown

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Confused about HWA slowdown

    Hi,

    I know this is a beta, but I'm interested by the fact that my game seems to run slower in HWA than in normal mode.

    It isn't because of the graphics; it is because of the code. I thought HWA would place the graphical load on the GPU therefore freeing up a fairly significant amount of time for the CPU to handle events. Does anyone know what causes this? It's really weird.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,070
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    Someone else sent me an application that is slower in HWA mode but I haven't profiled it yet. Could you send me your game too? This would help me a lot.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    This happened to me also. I found that if I clicked off the game so it didn't have focus and then refocused the game it ran much faster... might just be me though!

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,070
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    Ah yes, I haven't yet tested your application either. I wonder what could cause this...

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,070
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    I've profiled the other application, the slow down (or at last a part of the slow down) was caused by a quick backdrop object in ellipse mode. This one is not yet optimized, as well as the gradient quick backdrops. Gradient quick backdrops will be optimized soon, I don't know yet when ellipses will be optimized.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    I take it that isn't my one Yves? I can't remember adding a quick backdrop in ellipse mode...

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,070
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    No, it's another one.

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Sphax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    4,454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    The ellipse mode could be done through pixel shaders, maybe that could be the better optimization Yves, isn't it? But this pixel shader should be done in 1.0.

    Is the quickbackdrop in tile mode is already optimized, because I've found it a bit too slow. Don't know why...

  9. #9
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,070
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    Hmm... it should be automatically optimized... I'll take a look.

  10. #10
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Sphax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    4,454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Confused about HWA slowdown

    For a quickbackdrop in tile mode, is a texture is created from the size of the object or is the coordinates of the existing texture are recomputed to let it automatically tiled ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need a little help, but confused.
    By Gibbon in forum dotNet Scripting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2009, 09:48 AM
  2. .Net sub forum? Was there ever 1 or am i confused?
    By Gibbon in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 08:41 AM
  3. New and confused
    By Confusizzle in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th March 2008, 05:51 PM
  4. ok, i am get very confused about how i do this!
    By Gibbon in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th December 2006, 09:33 AM
  5. I getting confused with this new version.
    By droberson in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 30th June 2006, 07:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •