User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Saving Enemy Positions?

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Saving Enemy Positions?

    Ok, so I got the deliminator set - but how do you save the X and Y values of all of the indivisual enemies? I don't get the loop thing, could you explain it a little deeper?

    (Please Note: This post has been sent as a reply to TreeHugger's reply in the Save Game Feature for my Game Help thread, so if you don't know what I'm talking about, look there )

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    I've added a commented example for you in the file archive.
    Hope that's the sort of thing you were after.

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Yeah, I couldn't get the enemies to go to their positions, though. could you take a look at my game? I uploaded it in the file archive too.

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Ok, I'm going to have a quick look at it now, but I'll quickly say that one thing I've noticed is the order of events and actions. These are very important and are definitely part of the reason it's not working. For example, on event 29 you're creating the enemy AFTER trying to set it's position.
    Anyway, I'll have an indepth look and get back to you ...

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Oh, thanks. I think thats it, but if you find more do tell.

    Grr! Nope there are more errors... now the Demon appears at (0,0)
    of the frame

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Sorry, should have said that wasn't the only thing that was wrong. I just wanted to let you know that one as it's important for all MMF stuff not just this project. I'm noting down the other problems and will let you know a fuller list in a mo, but I can tell you that they appear at 0,0 because you save the array file to disk BEFORE you add the enemy x and y positions to the array. So when they load it knows there should be x number of enemies so runs the load loop, but the array doesn't hold the x and y values so they all get put at 0,0. Delete the save array action from the first button click and add a new event for save clicked after the one that starts the save fast loop and put the save array in there.

    example
    Code:
    * Save Clicked
    = save all player values etc to NVO
    = spread value in enemies
    
    * Save Clicked
    = Start enemy positions fast loop
    
    * Save Clicked
    = Save Array file to disk

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Actually, I think that's all
    So:
    * change the save bit mentioned above
    * change the order of the created enemy to:
    Code:
    * On Loop Load Enemy
    = set source string in String Parser
    = Create Enemy (just move this up the order of actions)
    = Set x to first value in string parser
    = set y to last value in string parser
    That's it and your saving and loading works.


  8. #8
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    THANK YOU! That really helped . Except now a few Demons are running over the pond... how do I get them back to their original positions before I save? Or maybe would it be easier to record their current spot on their path or something? (should I have them get a different movement?)

    One other thing that I am wondering completley off topic: how do I fix my warrior main character? His attack stalls sometimes and stuff - could you/someone check it out?
    :confused: I am full of questions - only game creator in the house [I have to learn everything either with the internet or by myself] :crazy:

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    When loaded they'll start moving as if at the start of their path and I don't think you can record how far along their path they were. It is possible to add extra nodes into their path and probably record the last node they passed. Alternatively give them a different movement or a custom movement and figure out a way to record direction and distance travelled or something maybe?

    how do I fix my warrior main character? His attack stalls sometimes
    I've seen this a few times and I'm not sure how to fix it. I thought checking if the shooting animation was on it's last frame and then setting it back to stopped would work but it doesn't for some reason. The debugger still shows it stuck on that last frame. I'd be quite interested in how to fix that one as well.

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Saving Enemy Positions?

    Is there a movement where I can reset the spot? like, jump to starting position or something? Or could I record the starting positons somehow? I haven't gotten into custom movements and I've been sticking to defaults.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Bug" For Saving and Loading Frame Positions AND "Timer Glitch"?
    By Zarpo in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th March 2012, 01:40 PM
  2. Saving Positions with Save Game Object
    By RickyRombo in forum File Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th January 2009, 10:20 PM
  3. Saving active object positions - Help Needed!
    By Maccally in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd June 2008, 03:44 PM
  4. Positions in race
    By Stephen38 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 04:45 AM
  5. Enemy spawn saving with string parsing.
    By SEELE in forum File Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th May 2008, 08:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •