User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    I'm using frame 2 as my sub-application, if that matters, and the array is set to global, but I hear that doesn't work. So how do I go about sending the data back and forth?

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    You can use global values as long as the option to share them is checked under the sub-app's properties.

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleUnicode Add-on

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    988
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    You could save the array and reload it on the sub-app.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    963
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    Yes, i would go with netninja. Before each array action, make sure it loads, and make sure you save after each action. That way both applications will work with the current array.

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    But if its doing it constantly, its bad for the hard drive. Constantly writing and reading any files wears away at the hard drive slowly. So it's a good idea, but only if you are doing the array action sparingly.

  6. #6
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    Well there's a specific time when the sub-app is called, and when it's closed since it's a menu screen type dealie, so it should work if I save the entire array before that, right? That's only a couple read/writes unless the user spams the Enter key to switch between the two repeatedly.

    Hm, I remember there being a problem with saving files at the end of an event loop while changing frames happens instantly. Do I need to do the same kind of thing here?

  7. #7
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,734
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    Use a AssAray in frame 1 and drop the same AssArray on frame 2 where your SubApp is called from.
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  8. #8
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    What's an AssArray? I've tried putting a similarly named Array in both frames, set to global.

    Bah, I've already set a bunch of starting values and actions dealing with it. Do I really need to use a different object for everything I do with ALL of my variables?

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Looki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Posts
    3,739
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    AssArray, Associative Array, an extension, that doesn't use indexes but keys for array entries. Kind of dictionary.
    http://ext.neatwares.ath.cx/ext/Associative_Array_Object

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer
    Jax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    693
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How do I send array data between sub and main app?

    Ini++ has a global mode.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [bug rc1] Get Object (Send Data)
    By StingRay in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th October 2012, 07:05 PM
  2. Send data to GoogleMap App?!
    By StingRay in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th October 2011, 04:22 PM
  3. Any way to send data through a proxy?
    By ClickerGuy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th September 2008, 09:14 PM
  4. How to send 100x100 array of ints though MooSock?
    By Code6 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th December 2007, 02:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •