User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: stacking falling blocks

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    stacking falling blocks

    A friend asked me to make a small demo of a game where blocks are lined up in a grid formation. And by clikcing on the blocks in the grid, they disappear. When a block is destroyed, the blocks above it need to fall and fill in the space the destroyed block left behind.

    Initially, I thought to just simply use vector movement or manually set the movement and stop the movement when a collision with another block is detected. Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to be working. The blocks tend to detect that they are sitting exactly next to another block, so they don't move at all.

    Can anyone offer a clean solution for making the blocks slide down if a gap appears below them? I thought about making a detector, but since these blocks are all duplicates, the detector only seems to work on one block (the last one created).

    Thanks in advance,

    Mobichan

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,761
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: stacking falling blocks

    You may want to try Advanced Gameboard Object. It is perfect for bricks and blocks. Also in your case you may also want to spread vavle of your blocks. This gives each a seperate ID.
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: stacking falling blocks

    Thanks for the heads up on the Adv Gameboard Object! I think that will make life much easier.

    Any idea how to get the "Position Brick to Grid" function working? The examples don't seem to use it and the Help file just says it uses the settings of the object to place an active in a grid. But it doesn't seem to do anything when I run the frame.

    Mobichan

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,761
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: stacking falling blocks

    In AGB you have to have the event of positioning bricks on its own line.
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  5. #5
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: stacking falling blocks

    It still doesn't seem to work. Maybe I'm not using the Easy Grid Feature -> Position Bricks to Grid properly. I am Importing Actives to Board and then using Position Bricks to Grid. Both of these are "Start of Frame" actions and they are on separate lines.

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,761
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: stacking falling blocks

    I think you have to add them to the que in an event before positioning them.

    Edit: Maybe I am thinking of a different extension
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

Similar Threads

  1. Physics - Falling blocks
    By Ls2 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17th February 2012, 03:45 PM
  2. is this a bug ? stacking actives
    By mikec in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 17th November 2011, 12:42 PM
  3. a solution to a stacking problem
    By GeorgeD in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th September 2011, 10:44 PM
  4. Falling and Stacking Objects
    By RichT in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •