User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    Here's what I want to happen:
    Upon pressing a key (F11), the command line interface will open and run a specified command.

    What I have so far:
    • Upon pressing "F11"
      -File: Run application "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe" ""
    Once I have it opened, how do I use the event editor to enter a command? In addition, is the path to the windows comand processor the same on all windows computers?

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,824
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    You can't use the event editor to pass a command.
    You would need to send your command via a parameter when you call your command line app.

    search on google for sending parameters to the exe your wanting to run.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Eliyahu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    There's an extension I believe made especially for this but it runs it invisibly if needed.

    EDIT: Jeff, that program is just Command Prompt.
    The extension you are looking for is called the Console Object. It can found in Fusion Updater.

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    The console object opens a console window, not a command processor. They're different things, right?

    Anyways I found this during my googling an I think it might be what I want. Could someone help me translate this into MMF2 terms?

    Quote Originally Posted by Question
    I have an exe that must be run from command prompt i what to run it from my application is there any technique to run it from my application and also pass some parameters . Plz help me out
    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Originally Posted by Answer
    absolutely there is.

    you need to use the System.Diagnostics.Process and System.Diagonostics.ProcessStartInfo classes. An example:


    ProcessStartInfo psi = new ProcessStartInfo("filename.exe");

    psi.Arguments = "/switchHere";

    Process.Start(psi);


    and thats it! use the ProcessStartInfo class instance to customize the behaviour of the process you are going to execute, such as showing the window or redirecting inputs/outputs etc...

    hope this helps

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Eliyahu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    Actually I am not sure if it is the same. Try entering things in it to see if it works, I am unfamiliar with it.

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    Ok. I found out how. Thanks for your time though. I just have one last unanswered question: Is the directory to the cmd.exe application the same on all Windows computers?

    And to all future readers also wanting to know how to do this:
    Use the file object, and the action "Run Application." In the expression editor, type "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k PARAMETERS" For example, "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k ipconfig"

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Can I run a comand line interface from MMF2?

    maybe you could search for it with the search extension? That way you wouldn't have to worry about it not being in the same place...?

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    JohnZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Running a command to set Read Only

    Quote Originally Posted by pinacoladaxb View Post
    Ok. I found out how. Thanks for your time though. I just have one last unanswered question: Is the directory to the cmd.exe application the same on all Windows computers?

    And to all future readers also wanting to know how to do this:
    Use the file object, and the action "Run Application." In the expression editor, type "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k PARAMETERS" For example, "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k ipconfig"
    Hi There
    I'm struggling to get this example to work. When I run CMD.EXE via the File object it just runs CMD and opens the directory of Fusion.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUnicode Add-onInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you use "Run external application" with evaluated pathname from the "Special conditions". Then set the pathname of the program to run to "cmd.exe" (cmd.exe is in a system location so no need to specify the path) then set the command line to "/K enter_your_command_here"

Similar Threads

  1. MMF2 and Hardware control I\O Interface
    By daniele in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th May 2012, 08:33 PM
  2. Admin Interface in MMF2
    By Virtual in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th June 2008, 06:13 AM
  3. MMF2 - Line Receiver
    By droberson in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd March 2008, 07:05 PM
  4. MMF2 Interface Suggestion
    By Nick in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th February 2007, 06:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •