User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Britain, South Coast
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    [size:20pt]“[/size] [size:14pt]uLoop Object BETA[/size] [size:20pt]„[/size]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    [color:#009900]What it does[/color]
    uLoop stands for Unique Loops, and is essentially another fastloop object.

    [color:#009900]What's new?[/color]
    Conventional fastloop extensions work using one condition. When such a fastloop is triggered, EVERY fastloop says 'hey, look at me!' and one by one they do a kind of roll-call, singling out the loops whose 'name' parameter matches the name of the loop you triggered, and leaving those who don't.

    The matches go on to return TRUE and run their actions, and the others return FALSE.

    This process can become very slow with many loops, since it essentially forces conditions to be read just so that they can tell MMF that they don't need to run.

    uLoop fixes this by making every fast loop a unique condition (up to a maximum of 30). You can define your uLoops by giving them a name in the properties, and they will subsequently appear in the conditions and actions.

    Because each uLoop is actually a unique condition, only the loop type that you want will be triggered, giving speed gains for large apps.

    [color:#009900]Still to be done[/color]
    I'm having some trouble accessing the properties in some places, so while the uLoop names will show up in the menus, they will show up as 'LOOP (##)' when you select them.

    It also needs support for infinite loops and a 'stop loop' function.

    Suggestions are welcome

    Download BETA Here

  2. #2
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killeen, TEXAS
    Posts
    1,041
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    from what you're saying, is this much like marcello's (which has #0-#31 unique loops)?

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Britain, South Coast
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    If that's how marcello's works, then probably

    But mine'll hopefully be slicker

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Killeen, TEXAS
    Posts
    1,041
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    lol- can you name the loops though?
    the only real gripe most people had with marcellos, was that you had to use loop #0, loop #1 etc, and seemed to more confuse those who didnt understand how fastloops worked.

    you can probably tell by now i havent actually looked at the object yet :P

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    DizzyDoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    South England
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    You can define your uLoops by giving them a name in the properties, and they will subsequently appear in the conditions and actions.
    Cranktrain - Currently finishing a new game called The Cat Machine!
    @MattLuard on Twitter.

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    SEELE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra australis incognito
    Posts
    1,916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    My results place the 'uLoop Object BETA' as APROX 5% slower then the built in fast loop system.


    here is my control test.

    download

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Britain, South Coast
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    ...Ah ... :blush:

    Well I can look into optimising it at a later date I guess, lol, but it still works as a first extension. I do like the interface of being able to simply select your loop rather than having to type it in each time.

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    I thought extension loops were supposed to be faster than MMF2's standard loops?
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    SEELE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra australis incognito
    Posts
    1,916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    Yes, congrats on your first extension BTW; Dines MAAT!

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Britain, South Coast
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [Beta] uLoop Object, beta only

    Quote Originally Posted by _LB
    I thought extension loops were supposed to be faster than MMF2's standard loops?
    I'm sure they are, when coded by someone who knows what he's doing, lol :blush:

    But for now I'm struggling to communicate between my properties and the custom parameters (which are the best bet on getting property names to show up as condition names).

    Any suggestions would be appreciated - the problem is that custom params apparently can't access EDITDATA, which is a bummer, so I would need some way to store the loop names outside of EDITDATA, but in a place that will be accessible.

    An external file would be slow, and require some extra work across multiple object instances.

    I considered storing it in the paramExt structure (paramater data) but I have a feeling it would prove to be just as hard getting paramExt OUT of the initialisation functions as it would getting EDITDATA in, lol.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 14th December 2013, 01:30 AM
  2. [Bugs] Android Exporter since the beta 30 (All beta testers can add to the list)
    By Koji_Kabuto in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13th June 2012, 11:52 AM
  3. Beta 30 - .apk size file increased with Beta 30
    By Ls2 in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th May 2012, 04:06 AM
  4. [BUG] Test Report Koji Kabuto on the latest release (Beta 17-Beta XX)
    By Koji_Kabuto in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 03:58 PM
  5. Beta 15, Testing backdrop object, active object and drag and drop movement
    By Fernando in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th February 2012, 12:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •