User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

  1. #1
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    Right this is a little complex so I'll explain it first before asking my question.

    I have a .exe utility which is linked in the start menu.

    In the first installer this is linked under the start menu > Folder 1

    In my patch I have linked the updated file to a different start menu location (start menu > folder 2).


    Now I have selected update existing uninstaller so that users only run one uninstaller.

    When the uninstaller runs will it:

    a) Delete both start menu items or
    b) only delete the 'Start menu > Folder 2' ... ?

    If the answer is B I suspect I will have to create a patch uninstaller as well.

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    Hi all, tested and it does work (a mentioned in above post).

    Shame we can't change the text (will this be available in the future)?

    Thanks in advance all,
    Pete

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,453
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    What text are you talking about? The title of the uninstaller in the Windows control panel?

  4. #4
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    Nope. The uninstaller text. My first installer's uninstaller provides a message saying version 2.5 has been successfully uninstalled but after adding my patch the product becomes version 3. However the uninstaller still says 2.5 .... unless I create a separate uninstaller for the patch .. but would rather not.

    i.e.

    #Title has been uninstalled successfully.

    in this case my original title was product v2.5

    though in my patch the title is v3

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,453
    Mentioned
    188 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    Ah, I see... there is no option for that actually, I'll add that to the wish list of ICP 3.

  6. #6
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Query regarding Add uninstall info to existing 1

    Thanks Yves

Similar Threads

  1. Non-existing direction
    By Nick in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th February 2014, 12:21 AM
  2. Using existing code in a new app
    By soarerv8 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd January 2013, 06:02 AM
  3. ICP Uninstall Kill app before uninstall
    By DJFuego in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th December 2011, 04:08 PM
  4. Editing of existing Samples
    By Tiles in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd December 2010, 08:14 PM
  5. Uninstall an existing installation
    By FishFPG in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st June 2010, 08:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •