User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Texture synthesizer

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    SEELE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra australis incognito
    Posts
    1,916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Texture synthesizer

    Written for Tiles is response to this thread.

    The following example uses small textures to synthesize large textures by scanning the smaller texture and attempting to 'stitch' parts of it together.


    It comes with 7 example textures including; bricks, grass, metal exc..

    Before synthesis you can select your quality-to-speed ratio; using high quality can take several minutes.

    Uploaded as both rar and zip.
    (unpack the folder before running)
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Tiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    Method works like charm. Great stuff. Thanks again

    EDIT, one small question. You start the loop calculate twice in the same line, line 12. Is this by accident or does this increase the quality? I seem to see no difference. But with just one loop it is a bit faster

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleUnicode Add-on

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    988
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    Nice job. Works well.

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    SEELE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra australis incognito
    Posts
    1,916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    Hey tiles, the second loop is called after the 'axis' value is changed...

    This causes the second loop to scan not the horizontal border pixels; but the vertical border pixels.

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Tiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    Ah, i see. That is why you set axis to 0 and 1. I was confused by having the same action twice. Now the things makes perfect sense. Thanks a bunch

    May i bother you with one more question please? I don`t get what the "different 8" in condition 16 stands for. Could you please enlighten me here?

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Looki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Posts
    3,739
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    It's the color of the overlay. RGB(8,0,0), almost black - MMF uses that instead of RGB(0,0,0) in some cases.
    RGB(8,0,0) results in 8.

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Tiles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    Ah, i see. Thanks

  8. #8
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    maybe I am missing something, but arnt you simply copying part of one image and pasting it into a canvas?
    If that is the case, why do you need to do so many loops and run through each pixel? I am sure it is posible with active picture object and the overlay itself and will be 100000x faster.

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    SEELE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra australis incognito
    Posts
    1,916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    I'm sure it would, bur the loops are not to paste the image; they are to scan the image, allowing it to decide how best to paste it together.

  10. #10
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Texture synthesizer

    I see. I should really have read the wikipedia site first. It still doesnt product completely seamless edges, but its not too bad.
    I am sure there would be a photoshop plugin that does this much faster though?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Texture Overlay
    By Nobuyuki in forum Shader Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th November 2012, 09:03 PM
  2. [bug] Texture tearing
    By colej_uk in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th March 2012, 06:36 PM
  3. Texture extensions
    By Min in forum OpenGL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th July 2010, 01:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •