User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

  1. #1
    RayMarble
    Guest

    Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Sample volume control works in swf, but not if the application is run directly from TGF2 or exported to an exe. Actually this is not a straight Flash-bug, since it actually works in Flash but not in standalone(confused) - anyway this seemed like the best place to report it so here we are.

    To see the problem, open the swf file and click around on the "buttons" (gray rectangles with black outline) - you shouldn't be able to hear much since the sample channel 1 is set to only 10%.

    Now open the .mfa and run it. As soon as you click on any "button" the sample channel volume jumps to 100% by itself.
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Hehe the Flash runtime works better than the C++ one for once! I think this is a bug for Yves (he did the sounds in the C++ version) and I have checked Yves, the parameters passed to the sound routines are correct.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    UrbanMonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Southern U.S.A.
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    This happens the Vitalize! Runtime as well.

    Which may or may not be the same thing.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,794
    Mentioned
    257 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Not a bug.

    You play 2 samples :

    - one sample without specifying any channel
    - one sample on channel 1

    When you play a sample without specifying a channel, the sample is played on the first free channel, at volume 100. As you didn't lock the first channel, the sound routine will set its volume to 100 when you play the sample.

    To make it work as you wish, it's easy : just lock the channel #1 so that the other samples cannot be played on it.

    And there might be a bug in the Flash runtime, because when you click quickly it seems the volume is set to 100 sometimes, at least on my machine.

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Quote Originally Posted by Francois
    Hehe the Flash runtime works better than the C++ one for once! I think this is a bug for Yves
    Quote Originally Posted by Yves
    Not a bug. [...] And there might be a bug in the Flash runtime
    Fight! Fight!

  6. #6
    RayMarble
    Guest

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    In other words, when the sample plays on the automatically assigned channel #1, it bumps the volume 100% - why would it do that? Although in this particular situation a better solution than locking a channel would be to assign a specific channel for all sound effects (otherwise I'd end up having one channel for every sound effect).

    In any case, nevermind - the point is that two builds behave differently, surely that is not right :-) (which is the reason why I posted it in SWF subforum)

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    MJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    1,162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie
    Quote Originally Posted by Francois
    Hehe the Flash runtime works better than the C++ one for once! I think this is a bug for Yves
    Quote Originally Posted by Yves
    Not a bug. [...] And there might be a bug in the Flash runtime
    Fight! Fight!
    Haha! For some reason I started to think of a flash game where Yves and Francois are "fighting" and killing bugs (small crawling creatures) on MMF2... now that would be a big hit game

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,794
    Mentioned
    257 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    LOL !

    Update: in fact I think the flash runtime doesn't set the volume of the channel to 100 when it plays a new sound on a random channel (without specifying a channel number).

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Sample volume jumps back to 100%

    Yes it uses the main volume setting if I remember correctly.

Similar Threads

  1. Sample 'set Volume' bug?
    By King_Cool in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 17th June 2012, 04:23 PM
  2. Set Sample Volume
    By K1kk0z90 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th July 2011, 08:01 AM
  3. Set volume of sample
    By K1kk0z90 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th September 2010, 12:02 PM
  4. Set volume of sample bug
    By Dynamite in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd December 2007, 01:30 PM
  5. Order of "play sample" and "set sample volume".
    By Nifflas in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th September 2006, 07:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •