User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lacewing Dynamic Channel Host Widget

  1. #1
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lacewing Dynamic Channel Host Widget

    This widget completely ignores the built-in channel host feature of Lacewing, so that if the channel host leaves, a new one is chosen, and the same choice is made by all peers without sending messages. The way it works is the widget selects the peer with the highest Peer ID. This ensures that everyone sees the same peer as the channel host, and that if the host leaves, somone else gets selected. The code runs every frame, and, as the limitation of widgets, after all the main code of your application. (Or before, whichever way makes more sense to you. Just know that it is technically after, eg with Start of Frame events)

    The entire widget is just the Named Variable Object. Copy it into any fram with the Lacewing Client named "Lacewing" and it will work. The instructions are in the behavior of the widget.

    Enjoy, and please comment so I can improove this
    -LB
    Attached files Attached files
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  2. #2
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lacewing Dynamic Channel Host Widget

    Sounds cool, I'm downloading it

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Lacewing Dynamic Channel Host Widget

    To avoid interference between this widget and the rest of your code, I have made a revised version that has a Loop Mode alterable value in it. This value is set to 1 during the widget's channel and peer loops, and 0 when not. For all of your channel and peer loop conditions you need to add the condition Loop Mode of NVO = 0 so that they aren't triggered when the widget starts the loops.
    Attached files Attached files
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th November 2011, 08:01 PM
  2. 3D menu Widget - Wild Widget Contest entry
    By Czentnar in forum Widgets
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26th March 2011, 12:51 AM
  3. [C++]Lacewing Server, Send to Channel
    By Greg in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th July 2010, 10:42 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th July 2010, 01:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •