User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hidden line rendering

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Hidden line rendering

    This group of objects grow on you quickly

    Is there a "hidden line" rendering option?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    This is what I mean by hidden line
    http://www.xiigates.com/TheCity/MGalleryItem.php?id=32

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Looki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Posts
    3,739
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    I still don't get it.
    My assumption is that you want scanlines.
    Just greate a quick backdrop with a line, and put it on a layer that doesn't scroll.

    EDIT: Oh, the image is generated via a script... it says that you need to be connected to the server.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    Sorry about that

    http://www.dascribe.net/hiddenline.png

    A hidden line image makes it look like a line drawing.



  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    You mean "wireframe" I think.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    Wireframe shows the entire objects line. Hidden line only shows the lines of what would naturally be visable. I built a bit of an engine for this before, but an opengl version makes it more feasable.

    take a look
    www.dascribe.net/engine22.zip

    I'm basically trying to go vintage like wizardyI,Might&magic monochrome. The idea is to soup up the linear graphics, then focus on abilities moreso than graphics.

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    Maybe a GLSL shader or another possible way could be to make one model with solid fill and another with wireframe so the solid fill blocks the unwanted parts. I have not tried this so maybe not but i am guessing either of those could possibly work.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    I'm pretty sure it's an opengl function/capability

    I use strata cx and they call the rendering option I'm looking for opengl hidden line. It's also very commonly used for cad.

    This site does it with a rubix cube

    http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:Z20sf6L2GFQJ:www.opengl.org/resources/code/samples/glut_examples/mesademos/mesademos.html%20opengl%20\"hidden%20line\"&cd=1&h l=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

    So it may actually be "hidden line removal" based on the search I just did.
    It's looks like it's a pretty common opengl topic.



  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,812
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    so basically its wireframe with backface culling?

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Hidden line rendering

    nope. It's doing a depth-only render of the filled geometry before drawing the wireframe, so only the front lines are shown.

Similar Threads

  1. Textblitter is not rendering - HELP!
    By Floedekage in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th January 2013, 05:39 PM
  2. [RC3] Rendering controls and graphics
    By Fernando in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th December 2012, 05:12 PM
  3. Map Editor rendering problem
    By NeoMonkey in forum File Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th April 2011, 05:18 PM
  4. OpenGL rendering issues
    By Verd0uX in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th February 2009, 12:40 AM
  5. Rendering bug narrowed down...
    By rocko in forum File Archive
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14th November 2006, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •