User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Controller Setup

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Controller Setup

    This was discussed some time ago, but now that I want it myself, I see that the thread did not fully explain how, or some confusion made the responders respond with wrong details.

    On my game, I have an Option tab in the Title Screen menu. In here I would like to have a list of all the keys. I also want a button next to each key that you can press incase you are not satisfied with the default controls. From the last thread I downloaded ControlX, but I cant really see how to use this to do what I want. Does anyone know how?

    --- I know that you can choose a controller setup from the menu bar, but I have removed the bar from my game. I would like to change all options in one place, which is this Option tab from the main menu. Also, the default controller setup is "too plain" for my game, which is another reason of why I want it this way!

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup


    (click to enlarge)
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    Ahaaa... Im gonna try that! Thanks

    Just one more thing.. Does it exist an object that types a value? Just like a counter.. I want a text to always say which button that is currently the key for each key. And if so, can I use whatever font I want, or do I need a font that every computer have?

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    There is an expression to convert a key value to a key name, that should help.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    Yea, that would be great But I dont know what object to start with in the first place.. String object or something?

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Darlington, UK
    Posts
    3,298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    Yes, string object. Use the "Change alterable string" action on the string object to make it show the text you want.

  7. #7
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    haha, this must be the first basic thing! Is there any fiting examples about this somewhere??

    Never mind, I think Im able to do most of it alone. But how would an Always event look like if I always want to show (lets just say...) jump button? How can I "import" this info from the ControlX?? If I choose "Get Up Key" from ControlX, it also tells me to choose a value... What value..?

    And I ask again, since this is an important detail. Can I like, set "Always: Set font to xxx" and then select a font that most likely not are on the player's PC?

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    You don't need to change the font at runtime.

    The value it asks you to enter is the player number, of course. Just enter 1.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  9. #9
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    lol, yea that makes perfects sense! Player 1 it is! Thanks

    I actually managed to find a way to set the font without events. But will this font be built in to my application?? Im using a Super Mario font, but I dont know if my game will require this font on other computers as well to work properly?

  10. #10
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Controller Setup

    Yes it will require it. Unless you use the character image extension
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Controller setup
    By PimeX in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th August 2010, 09:36 AM
  2. Mochiscore setup
    By Evilized79 in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th August 2010, 05:28 PM
  3. Setup image
    By Wh1teL0tus in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th February 2009, 01:01 PM
  4. Online Setup
    By SylvainSSiri in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st June 2007, 05:27 AM
  5. Zone Setup
    By dingdong in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th April 2007, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •