User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)SWF Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    Disthron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    250
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Hi everyone.

    I got Norton Internet Security a while back and for some reason, a few months ago it started blocking any program made with MMF2 Developer. It comes up with a pop-up saying "SONAR detected security risk stdrt.exe" and then it said that it deletes it.

    If I turn off Anti-virus auto protection for a few seconds while I start the program it starts and continues to run fine. Also, it's not just stuff that I make it's any game/program made with a MMF2.

    This seems very strange to me, but I plan on selling the game I'm working on and if it's sending up red flags with peoples virus protection they are going to wont there money back.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,826
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Uncheck the compress the runtime option in your application properties then Norton will only ask you once and when you allow the game to have access it will remember it.

    This is how Norton "protects" your computer.

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    DavidN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Anti-virus programs - particularly Norton - seem to have periodic problems with MMF2-based files. A certain amount of code is common to most MMF2-made applications, so it's a particularly noticeable problem.

    The best thing you can do is to submit the file as a false positive to Norton, and they'll hopefully fix it in a future database update.

    Edit: Oh yes, and the above.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,826
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Maybe I was wrong --- He says it deleted stdrt.exe I thought it was just blocking it.

    A lot of firewalls will inform you about stdrt.exe trying to communicate on the internet as its something most people would want to know. When its compressed inside an EXE the firewall thinks its a new program ever time.

    When its not compressed a decent firewall should remember after
    the first time you allowed it thru.

    If Norton deletes the file then the user needs to contact Norton and tell them to fix their scanner. Nothing we can do on this side.

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    SONAR is annoying. Disable it or add the folder you make your exes in to the ignore list.

    And tell Norton that their anti-virus should ASK before deleting things when reporting the false positive.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)SWF Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    Disthron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    250
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Hay, thanks everyone, once I unchecked compress runtime it worked instantly. It didn't even send up a red flag.

  7. #7
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    This is still however a problem to run any other persons games which are compressed since it will alarm every time you run the game, considering the "stdrt.exe" is unpacked into a temporary location it's impossible to add it to a list of accepted exe:s.. I've been annoyed by this for a looong time...

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,384
    Mentioned
    279 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Weird, I've submitted compressed and non compressed apps saved with both MMF2 and MMF2 Developer on virustotal.com, and none of those 4 files got reported as possible malware by Norton...

    I wonder if they fixed it already?

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    BackStaged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    693
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    For your informations, i have Kaspersky PURE.

    And some extensions was deleted by him.
    So, i send the quarantined files to the Kaspersky VirusLab.
    Then unactivate my Antivirus, and restaured the files.

    Plus: i zipping the files into a password-protected archive and waiting for the correction of Kaspersky databases, and, few days after, the alert was gone!

    Then, unzipping my password-protected archive and MMF2 do not breaked anymore by Kaspersky.

    Then just tell to Norton VirusLab the false detection by sending their detected files!

  10. #10
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,384
    Mentioned
    279 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Re: Norton Internet Security won't run my aplications

    Kaspersky are very good for false positives. When you send them a false positive they answer a couple hours later, they apologize and they fix the problem asap. I wish all the anti-virus companies would be like them...

    I currently use Eset NOD32 but my second choice would be Kaspersky.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. After Ugrade from MMF2 Dev to Fusion 2.5 Dev Alert from Norton Internet Security 2014
    By Duncki in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th December 2013, 04:17 PM
  2. Security in Network/Internet Data Interaction
    By DracisLooby in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th November 2013, 08:39 PM
  3. Norton Security keeps thinking that my applications are SONAR.Heuristic.101?
    By BartekB in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24th October 2013, 04:18 AM
  4. Total Defense (CA Anti-Spyware) Internet Security False Positive
    By Grim_Jester in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th April 2013, 06:35 AM
  5. Running aplications
    By Skeets in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st December 2007, 08:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •