User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Need a better way to pause...

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need a better way to pause...

    Subapps = Don't work with Flash, don't let you close the game while paused, in fact... they make you click inside the subapp window just to do anything

    Activating/Deactivating groups = Huge pain in the rear... lots of little things to consider like animations playing or using MMF movements.

    Built in Pause = Is just awful and also doesn't work with Flash.


    Is there any other way to pause the game without a tremendous amount of work? It really shouldn't be this difficult to pause a game.

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    RickyRombo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there
    Posts
    3,167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    Switch Frames,Ignore player input, set frame rate to 0? I don't know!

    I can truthfully say that activating and deactivating groups is NOT that cumbersome. Just be sure to stop movements and animations.

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    How do you think other games not made in MMF2 do it? The equivalent is indeed activating and deactivating groups and animations/movements.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,278
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    Try using qualifiers to put all your animating objects together. Then you only need to start/stop the animations in a single qualifier.

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    The way I put pauses in my games is by adding a second layer and putting a transparent background on it with the word paused in the middle, so you can see through the background and know it is paused.

    Then you just go:

    Upon Pressing "P"

    - Pause application and resume when key "p" is pressed (this is under storyboard controls)
    -show layer 2


    End of pause

    -hide layer 2


    Then all you have to do is make sure all counters and strings are not displayed as background or they will get picked up by the second layer, and this will pause the game easily.

    *To put in the events of showing the other layers you have to put in the layer object.

    Hope this helps.

    ~Squibs

  6. #6
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    Interesting technique Squibs. Thanks for sharing. Layers won't work with Flash though, will they?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    they work fine in flash

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    What does that have to do with the thread, OldLongDragon?

  9. #9
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    Quote Originally Posted by Konidias
    Is there any other way to pause the game without a tremendous amount of work? It really shouldn't be this difficult to pause a game.
    You can use the Question & Answer object.

    Just ask a question with one possible answer. The question could be Click OK to resume! with the only answer being OK.

    This is NOT the prettiest but it is the easiest solution.
    DT
    Special Projects Director

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,278
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Need a better way to pause...

    One thing to consider when making a pause is how much functionality you need. If you just want a way to freeze everything and then resume everything based on a button press, then alot of these solutions will work fine. But if you want a proper pause menu, with options to resume, quit, config, etc... you will need to do some kind of object managment to start and stop animations. Then you are probably better off using the group method or a subapp.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15th October 2012, 04:33 PM
  2. Help with pause.
    By Martin in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 15th March 2012, 12:54 PM
  3. Best Way to Pause
    By drnebula in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th December 2009, 07:13 PM
  4. PAUSE?
    By scurvy in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th May 2009, 07:51 PM
  5. Pause
    By Hordolur in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th July 2008, 08:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •