User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: How to link to a sponsor

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to link to a sponsor

    Okay so for most flash sponsorships, fog.com crazymonkey etc you need to place a link to there site in the game I was wondering how is this possible in mmf2?

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    DavidN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    Use the "Open URL" action of the Flash Player object.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    Thanks David

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    MJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    1,162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    However, note that this method will fail on some (many, most?) systems running the latest Firefox with default settings. Firefox's pop-up blocker can block the URL and not open the site. If this is the case for the sponsor, he might call off the whole deal.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Evilized79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    883
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    Just make it open in the same window with firefox then there is no problem , had the same problem with a sponsor, So I made it open the page in the same window. works fine

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Olivier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    It does not work for me Evilized. Since you posted your answer I've conducted more tests. So by using the action "Open URL in current window" I found out that when I test for a click on an Active object the popup gets blocked, but if I test for a click on a String object, the popup gets blocked for half a second and then the browser opens the requested URL. 3 other people confirm this strange behavior.

    May I ask you what code/events do you use to make it work?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Evilized79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    883
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    That's strange I just used the flash object when you click an object open url in same window. I used this for gameitnow sponsor, who said it worked fine but he prefered to have it open in a new window even with the popup blocker.

    i used the 249 built so maybe it was that.

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Olivier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    Thank you for the information. I'm currently using b251 so maybe that makes a difference. Clickteam needs to address this issue quickly, because people are going mad about it.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Tuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    1,853
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    I created a quick test project and found that if I OpenURL in same window when clicking on an active, it does not open.

    BUT:

    I took it a little further and if i open the swf directly in firefox (no wrapper html) the open url works fine. it seems that it only fails when I am using the html default wrapper. That was the extent of my testing (swf alone vs. swf with html wrapper created by MMF2).

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    MJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    1,162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How to link to a sponsor

    Quote Originally Posted by Olivier
    Clickteam needs to address this issue quickly, because people are going mad about it.
    I truly hope so, too. Some comment from Clickteam's side would be appreciated, i.e. is there something in the plans to address this issue?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sponsor Preloaders
    By Stephen in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 1st July 2012, 03:43 AM
  2. Help with Sponsor API
    By Disthron in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th August 2011, 05:46 PM
  3. Link to a sponsor
    By L13n in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 3rd May 2011, 05:42 PM
  4. submitting a game for a sponsor
    By willow in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 31st March 2011, 09:42 PM
  5. What to think about if you plan to get sponsor?
    By Outcast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19th February 2011, 02:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •