User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Collision on layer 2 not working properly

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Collision on layer 2 not working properly

    I've got movement on layer 2. Objects are colliding as expected to obstacles.

    But when backdrops are created and inserted as "not an obstacle" over other obstacles in layer 2, there is no effect. Objects are not reacting to the changed environment, they should fall straight through the hole.

    Moving layer 2 back down to layer 1 fixes the problem.
    But I kind of want stuff to be at layer 2.

    Any suggestions? Is this a bug, or expected limitation?

    EDIT: Here is an example

    Move the mouse to erase obstacles. Move layer 2 down to layer 1 and it should work again.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,822
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Collision on layer 2 not working properly

    That is interesting.

    I suppose for the time being you will need to put it all on layer 1. It could be a limitation in the current layering system.

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Collision on layer 2 not working properly

    Yes, collisions on layer different than 0 are in fact handled as sprites, and not as a collision mask. So there can be no holes in it. It works that way too in the Flash runtime.

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2SWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,537
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Collision on layer 2 not working properly

    ahhhhh thank you for telling me that francois, I had always been wondering. I have a game that uses very large levels and I didn't want to needlessly insert layers as I feared it might duplicate large collision masks, and I also noticed pasted backdrops had big problems on them. But I think I've optimized my engine for this already through experimentation.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Collision on layer 2 not working properly

    Thanks for clarifying. I'll try to work around it.

Similar Threads

  1. ID Custom Value not working properly
    By BartekB in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th November 2013, 08:30 PM
  2. Collision stops working if an empty layer...
    By RayMarble in forum The Games Factory 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th October 2010, 03:47 AM
  3. Different savegame files not working properly
    By Blue66 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th April 2009, 11:44 PM
  4. distance and selector not working properly?
    By Ben in forum File Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th July 2006, 04:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •