User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: [BUG] String object does not retain its string

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    [BUG] String object does not retain its string

    Not sure if this is a bug or the desired behavior, but let's say you have a string obj with some text in paragraph 1. If the string object is set to create on start and visible on start, (at runtime) the debugger shows the string as containing the contents of paragraph 1 (as expected).

    Now, if you set it to "create on start" but NOT "visible on start" and you run the frame, the debugger shows the current string for the string object as blank.

    Also, if you have both "create at start" and "visible at start" unchecked, and you create the string at runtime, the string will appear blank in the debugger.

    I would have thought, in any case, the string object would default to containing its first paragraph's text. Is this not the behavior that should be happening? I noticed it when I was trying to populate a string with the contents of another strong that was created at runtime.

    Mobichan

  2. #2
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [BUG] String object does not retain its string

    I think I have found another string bug:

    It is very confusing as to whether the paragraphs are 0 or 1 based indices. If I create the string obj at runtime and set it's index to a counter, it shows the default paragraph as 0. But the text string that is actually displayed is from paragraph 2. Then if I set the string to paragraph 1 (using an expression) it displays the text string of paragraph 1.

    I simply want to display paragraph 1, then 2, then 3. But since paragraph 2 seems to be the default , they are shown out of order.

    Also, can someone confirm if paragraphs are supposed to be 0 or 1 based?

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: [BUG] String object does not retain its string

    And here is a super simple example of the first bug I mentioned:

    View MFA

Similar Threads

  1. Find String in String issues
    By DistantJ in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th February 2013, 01:35 PM
  2. String splitting with string parser
    By Sejez in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th February 2013, 06:31 AM
  3. Unable to change a string with the list obect if string contains three periods in row
    By redpandagames in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th January 2013, 04:01 PM
  4. Set edit box text to string$("string object") causes long delay
    By MJK in forum XNA Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd August 2012, 03:58 PM
  5. Using String Parser to check for any punctuation in a string
    By Apex in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th May 2012, 12:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •