User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    I know you can get the self/peer ID and name, and I know you can get the channel name, but is there any way to get the channel ID? (ie, the sequenced number in which it was created)

    Like say for example in the server object I have

    On text message to channel on subchannel 0

    How can I figure out what the ID of that channel is?

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    You can't. What do you need this for?
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    I'm storing game information for each channel in an array on the server... I'm using the Z of the array as the "channel id" basically... so something like "XY(Z) = variable" where Z is the channel number. That way I can have just the one array object for many game instances.

    I guess I will have to do it the fake way, by assigning a number to the start of the channel name when it's created and then doing a tokenizer to pull that number out of the name.

    So like channel name = "5|This is channel five" and then tokenize with the delimiter "|" so I can use token 0 as the channel number.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    Can't you just use the Named Variable object?
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  5. #5
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    I'm not sure... can't channels have the same name?

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Phi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    Nope.

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    I think you're thinking of Peers/Clients, they can have the same name, they just can't be in the same channel until one of them leaves or changes their name.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    Mathias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    1,083
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    Using the channel name as a unique identifier works because there's only 1 channel instance at a given time

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,773
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Is there a way to get the channel ID?

    And you shouldn't assume the channel IDs will be suitable array indexes, because the protocol doesn't define how the IDs should be generated.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't see my channel
    By KaiseanGames in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th January 2011, 02:30 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st April 2010, 01:07 AM
  3. Select Channel by Name
    By Asholay in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th July 2009, 02:12 PM
  4. How to tell who is channel op?
    By LB in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th July 2009, 05:01 PM
  5. IRC Channel
    By wargasmic in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •