User Tag List

Thread: Preparing for a commercial project - Q&A

No Products Registered

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Preparing for a commercial project - Q&A

Let's start with a bit of background: I'm an indie developer who is better at being a designer than being a programmer. I've been making games for about 10 years. I've made several relatively successful games using MMF and the SWF exporter. This summer I'm planning on going for something bigger: a full-on commercial downloadable game.

However, MMF is a big program with a ton of extensions, and there are a number of things I wonder about. I also figured that a number of other people are also probably worrying about similar questions. So I thought I'd start this thread, with the following purposes in mind:

1. Asking a number of questions about how to best prepare for this project
    2. Allowing others to ask questions or come up with various suggestions
    3. Taking all the answers and turning them into a tutorial to make it easier for other people to prepare for big projects

Note that this is only about technical questions, not questions of design or production.

------------

So, to get this started, here are some questions:

What is the best way of saving information? For Flash games there's INI, but what about downloadable games? Especially considering the weirdness of some versions of Windows apparently only allowing games to save information in specific folders.

What should be kept in mind when making a game that should also work on a Mac?

I'm not making a platform game right now, but since I've had some problems with the standard platforming code, what extensions should one use to create a game that runs as smoothly as possible?

Clickteam Clickteam
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Preparing for a commercial project - Q&A