User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How can I check for user's Windows version

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How can I check for user's Windows version

    Hi
    I am examining Install Builder and would like to know these things ..
    1. How can find out what version of Windows a user is installing to?

    2. How can check whether a file or folder exists on the system?

    3. How can retrieve an existing windows key value?

    So far I'm only using the non Pro version. Are these options available in the Pro version?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How can I check for user's Windows version

    1. There's an option (in pro, not sure about free) to install a file only if the user is running a certain version of windows. It's found in The "Files" tab, select the file, then click the "Windows" tab to the right of the file list. It should be there under "Install Directory".

    If you're wanting to know whether to install something to either "C:\Users\..." or "C:\Documents and Settings\..." depending on windows versions, use environment variables instead.
    Examples:
    #Program Files#\MyApp
    #AppData#\MyApp
    #AllUsersAppData#\MyApp

    2. I don't think it can do that.

    3. I'm assuming you mean to get the install location from the registry? In Options, Select the Root key (eg. HKEY_Local_Machine), then type in the key (eg. SOFTWARE\MyApp), then type in the subkey that contains the directory (eg. InstallLocation).
    That'll read HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MyApp\InstallLocation for the install path.
    NOTE: For the installer to actually set that path, the path defined in the registry key MUST exist on the computer.

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How can I check for user's Windows version

    Thanks for the reply. I'm fully up for trying these things in the Pro version, which appears to have some macro/scripting capabilities. I just cannot tell for sure based on the free version.

    While I applaud the idea of a free version I would prefer to see the free version be the same as the Pro version except that it won't compile or something. That way I could eval the Pro version. Now you just have to trust that it's flexible enough.

    Just curious .. what would happen if you speced a folder that didn't exist? Is the user flagged for a different entry or is there a way to capture the result as a way to know if the folder exists or not?

    Also does the macro/scripting support IF statements?

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperInstall Creator Pro
    Corlagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    a basement in Muenster
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How can I check for user's Windows version

    Quote Originally Posted by Breezy
    While I applaud the idea of a free version I would prefer to see the free version be the same as the Pro version except that it won't compile or something. That way I could eval the Pro version. Now you just have to trust that it's flexible enough.
    You can directly evaluate Pro – it will install even without registration. (It will even compile, just with an evaluation notice included.)

  5. #5
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How can I check for user's Windows version

    Thanks for the tip Corlagon!

    I've installed it and where do I put macros/scripts?

    Do you know where I can find a list of variables in the program?

    I searched help for both of these tings but couldn't find anything.

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: How can I check for user's Windows version

    it doesn't run macros/scripts. You can set it to run a file after the install, or to write ini/registry values or register dlls/ocxs, but that's it.

    The list of environment variables is in the help file. Open help, then in Contents, go to "The Interface">"The Tabs">"Options"

    If you specify a folder that doesn't exist, it will create it. If you specify a folder in the registry, and it doesn't exist, it will use the directory you define in the "Installation Directory" field above the registry key info in the Options tab I mentioned

Similar Threads

  1. Check to see if a domin user exists?
    By TheDigitalAlchemist in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th September 2013, 04:27 PM
  2. Benefits for MMF2 user on getting Dev Version?
    By N64Mario in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th October 2009, 10:01 PM
  3. Check if user has DirectX 9.0 installed?
    By edkeyte in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •