Thread: Potential buyer with questions about capabilities

No Products Registered

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Potential buyer with questions about capabilities

Hi all,

I'm strongly considering buying MMF2 for the iOS Exporter, however I've got a few questions:

- Does the exporter properly support higher-res graphics for the iPhone 4?
    - Is it easy to maintain, say, a Windows and iOS version of the same app, sharing majority of code but using different screen resolutions and controls?
    - Are dual iPhone-iPad runtimes supported with both using the proper screen resolution?
    - Not really related to iOS, but if I were to get a standard version of MMF2, would I be able to easily update to MMF2 Developer at some point, or would it be cheaper to go straight to Developer?

Thanks in advance. I've got some background with MMF but the iOS exporter strikes me as something which would be really appealing to play around with.

Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Potential buyer with questions about capabilities

Ben,

The exporter will support Retina display, but in a different way than you would expect. Build your apps for the higher resolution and rely on the app to res down for lower-res devices. I develop everything at 960x640/640x960 and they run and look great on the lower-res 3GS/iPod Touch/etc. They also scale automatically to the iPod's additional res. This is my favorite feature of MMF2: resolution is relative to the device.

I don't do multiple versions of apps myself. I just target the retina display and that is what I deliver to Windows. I also avoid using controls that lock me down to just one platform whenever possible. Luckily, most of the better controls are on iOS for MMF2. I also like that MMF2 supports DirectX versions so frame rates are great on Windows.